Meanwhile back in Honolulu


Followup of the other day:check this out.

My sublettee tells me the ’97 Civic has electrical problems. Last year the mechanic told me it was unlikely to pass inspection again; and I’ve had various things happen to it – 180,000 miles. Should I just sell it? Go without? Bike everywhere?

I have no idea how you get rid of such a thing on an island such as Oahu, you can’t simply drive it over a cliff. I bet Hawaii has a junk tax, maybe I can sell it to some high school kid for a buck.

When I got a bike again last year, I rode it around and enjoyed. So maybe I’ll just do without a car. I’d save money.

On The Other Hand – a JEEP. Would love to have a jeep again. Hawaii is a great place for a jeep. My last vehicle prior to moving was a 1992 jeep w 4Wdrive and a 600W sound system. I bought it after my 1997 Ford F-150 was rear-ended on the interstate in Bangor…. The insurance payment was enough to cover the pre-owned jeep outright, and since Amy was in college I didn’t want to assume a full car payment at that time. The choice made financial sense at the time.

It’s got to be an older one, the last five years they upsized the lines and these lost the classic look.

Both my daughters can handle a stick. When I moved to Hawaii, Amy got the jeep for a few months during her senior year at U of Vermont. I’d previously visited her there, and I can still recall her cursing like a sailor, (mostly at me) in traffic in Burlington, but she was shifting just fine!

That vehicle caused me to buy my first bikini, ever. Jeep owners enjoy fiddling with their options. Top up? Down? Sides up? Bikini on? Bikini top off? (Ooh la la!) Doors on?

I think in Hawaii they allow you to drive with the windshield down as well. I can cruise with a pair of goggles like a World War One flying ace. Tinted of course.

Okay, for those occasions when I am with somebody, I admit a jeep is not the place to hold sedate ‘meaningful conversation’ such as you might do in, say, a Porsche or a Lincoln Town Car. Let’s face it, I prefer the company of those who allow their hair to blow in the wind……. Holding on for dear life!

Of course, a soft-top jeep is not the most practical vehicle for a New England winter. If I’d stayed there I could have customized it by changing up to the same size heater Ford puts in their SUVs – they say it’s an effective modification – like having a kerosene heater at your feet….for awhile there I just had a pile of blankets and any passengers would pile them on as if they were on a sleigh ride. A thermos of cocoa and we were off!

A small woodstove would do the same thing. But I digress.

Here in Hawaii? No problem. Get a couple of pith helmets, neoprene seat covers, and away we go!

In KTM news – met the kids from the BN class and they will be a fun bunch. This cohort is 15, enough to allow a more comfortable interactive style than I can get with the group of 75. I already got them taking turns to stand up as they analyze rhythm strips. Today we spend another full day together, and we explore the ins and outs of bradycardia, the Vagus nerve, and the relationship between COPD and SVT. We have five more days after this – we are on track. ECG and teamwork drills are the order of the day.

One of the key things I model for them is the mega-code or mock code as my Oz friends would call it. Some of this group will become teachers, and I am showing them how to do something which their own teachers did not do – drill on simulated emergencies. Nursing teachers in Nepal are a bit traditional and do not do this sort of simulation. In each trip to Tansen, I did this, and the students loved it, they could see the immediate payoff. (Some future blog I will tell one story from 2009 in detail). Teamwork starts as a theoretical concept, but there are specific manifestations to be taught, it doesn’t simply happen.
We’re spending a lot of time talking about it and yesterday they all got the handout from AHA ACLS book.

Also, spoke on the phone with the Medical Officer from Bhairawa in charge of their ICU. We exchanged email addresses. One of my best former TNS students works in ICU at the hospital there, in the Terai. She told them about me. In Bhairawa, we’ll do the three-day compressed version of training, I think, but I will get there (by plane) the day before and spend part of that day assessing what exactly they do, what their patient mix is, and what they need. I have lots of tools in the toolbox. I have wanted to go there!

Joe

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in The Hospital at the End of the World and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Meanwhile back in Honolulu

  1. members of my worldwide readership may not knwo what a Jeep is until you see one…

    Joe and Julie in the Jeep, Maine 2005

    enjoy

  2. Members of my worldwide reading audience will recognize a Jeep if they see one, even if they don’t know the brand name..

    Joe and Julie in the Jeep, Maine 2005

    enjoy

  3. Members of my worldwide reading audience will recognize a Jeep if they see one, even if they don’t know the brand name..

    Joe and Julie in the Jeep, Maine 2005
    enjoy

Leave a Reply

