my License as an R.N. in Nepal, making videos of nursing education


Jan 2012 – please consider subscribing to my current blog. This Kathmandu blog is not active anymore, now that the 2011 trip to Nepal is history.

August 2, 2011

Today’s program was not very ambitious. I still have a dry cough and continue to feel run down.

The main event was my last trip to LNC, where I had a long conversation with Radha Ma’am, Radha Bangdel, the Campus Chief of LNC, and therefore the person who hosted me this summer. I interrupted her meeting schedule but she was gracious about it. Three students waited patiently outside so at one point I took the BlackBerry video cam to the Library. The intent was to video a clip in the LNC Demonstration Room, using students as narrators.

I was in luck, Juna and Pratima from the BN group were there studying. I beckoned them to follow me and they did. The rooms had been unlocked and – there we were.

Only Pratima and Juna said “not so fast.” So we went to Radha Ma’am and they got clarification as to what I was asking as well as whether it was legit.

Tour of Demonstration Rooms

The Demonstration Rooms are separated according to a) maternity and b) fundamentals. We made two videos, going through each drawer and basin, getting the nitty-gritty view of nursing procedures in Nepal. I found it to be fascinating of course, esp the short discussion of home birth in the setting of a dirt-floored house. Wow.

English Accent?

Off camera, the two BN students told me they wondered what Americans would think of their accents and grammar.

“I’m sure that any person watching will use the same word…. They will find it to be ‘charming'”. They gave blank looks.

“This is not a word we know”

Okay……. “Pleasing, enjoyable, appealing, attractive…”. Which made them laugh out loud, and a short discussion of accents. “I think you are each quite thoughtful spokespersons for nursing in Nepal, and wonderful representatives for the school. After hearing those videos, any videshi will think it an honor to teach here if all the students are so nice. ”

Who Me?

“You are lying to us again, Joe Sir!”

“I might have lied before but I mean it this time.”

A quick handshake farewell and back to Radha Ma’am. We found a place outside in the shade and she granted an interview, which will also go on YouTube. The interview serves as an overview of the current state of nursing in Nepal, and I tried to only provide prompts, not to say much myself and mainly to give her some space. It ended with a description of the planning needed to implement a B Sc nursing program, and described the way a videshi could volunteer as a faculty at LNC. Any takers out there?

I will take all nursing videos and create a ‘Nursing in Nepal’ playlist, when I get home.

Nepal Nursing License suitable for framing

Oh, and my license was ready across town, they sent somebody to get it, then delivered it via motorcycle to the Guest House around 5 PM. It’s only “active” when I am in Nepal, but for my next trip the activation process will be easy now that I achieved initial Registration. I can legally use “R.N.” After my name in Kathmandu! Hooray!

In the afternoon I made a short trip to get my very last trinkets from this summer and to buy rope with which to reinforce my duffel bag. Then repacked stuff. I got just the right size bag – it will fit everything.

Looking at my itinerary, I have a short overnight in BKK. I left the inflatable mattress for the daypack. Suvarnabhumi Airport is far from the city and by the time I get a taxi in, it will be time to return. BKK is also relatively expensive, so camping out at the airport, is the order of the day.

If I was not such a fuddy-duddy I could spend the whole Bangkok layover time at the famous all-night food bazaar, where the international vagabonds go. Party all night, make a frenzied return to the airport, flop into my assigned seat and sleep on the plane.

Nope, I will bring a book to read, and simply meditate, glassy eyed, on the cool terazzo floor of the terminal.

Did I ever tell you about the taxi drivers of Bangkok? When I see you next, there is a funny story to tell about my 2008 trip…..

Joe

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in nursing education, The Hospital at the End of the World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to my License as an R.N. in Nepal, making videos of nursing education

  1. Justin says:

    Edit: I’ll be swinging by your office to hear about the Bangkok taxi drivers…

Leave a Reply

