Time to start thinking about summer 2013 in Nepal


August 2015 update:  I don’t expect to return to Nepal until May 2016. click on the  blue letters to see about Nurse.Teach.Reach.

My summer 2012 hiking and backpacking trip in USA is concluded. I enjoyed it tremendously but all good things must come to an end. I am now back in Honolulu for the school year.

2013 plans to return to Nepal

As described in my other blogs, I plan to return to Nepal in 2013 and build on my activities from 2012, teaching critical care nursing skills with an emphasis on ACLS response and ECG interpretation. I learned a lot from my 2011 trip, and I intend to adjust the plans to make best use of the time. This URL is the same one I used in 2011, I simply changed the name of it. So, if you wish to read the reports of 2011 just go through the archives.

Specific Plans?

I am willing to bring other nurses with me in 2013, and if you are interested, send an email to CCNEPal2013@gmail.com.  I will add you to the list of interested parties. You arent committed to anything unless and until you buy the plane ticket. you will need to prepare. I have started a private email list already, of persons who have expressed and interest in this project, and your name will be added.

Creating a program

This may seem odd, but at this juncture no plans are set in concrete. I personally expect to be in Nepal all summer (roughly mid-May to beginning of August) but others who do not have the time, are not required to be. I expect to use Kathmandu as “home base”, but I am thinking the best way to do this would be to continue the three-day courses I set up in 2011, and to spend at least part of the time offering it at locations outside the Kathmandu Valley.

This will involve bus and plane travel outside the Valley, including the Terai and other parts of Nepal not often frequented by American tourists. On the one hand, this is not for the meek. On the other hand, when I did this in 2011 it was wonderful and memorable.

Seeing Everest?

The training we will provide is not mixed in with trekking. We will not be spending time distributing toothbrushes in Solu Khumbu, or visiting orphanages. (other projects composed of non-nurses can do those things). These are worthy endaevors I suppose, but we will focus on acute care needs of working nurses in acute care hospitals.

Minimal requirements

1) a passport. good health. a nursing background.  ACLS is handy, and ACLS-I is even more handy.

2) you pay your own plane fare and expenses. probably about $3,000 per person.

3) you meet screening criteria. The single most important criteria is resilience under stress. Interpersonal flexibility.

4) There is a specific policy related to alcohol use and cultural sensitivity. If you need daily alcohol, or you are unwilling to go for periods of time in which alcohol is forbidden, stay home. And save us the trouble. It’s just not worth the hassle.

Related to this, to spend time studying the culture of our host country, is extremely worthwhile.

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in medical care in low income countries and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

