The Most Interesting Man in the World?


Indulge me in a pleasant fantasy….

Surely you have seen this TV commercial?

The Stay Thirsty Grant

the contest is sponsored by the company whose commercials feature “The Most Interesting Man in the World” – wanna know a secret? I am probably pretty boring…..

Here is the truth: I probably am actually pretty boring, if the truth must be told.  But there is one thing I do that is – interesting. keep your fingers crossed. I have entered a contest that will award $25,000 for my 2013 trip to teach in Nepal if I win.

Between now and October 30th, there will internet voting by the general public. that is where you come in. Though I have made four trips to teach nursing in Nepal, I have never done external fundraising. This seems like an interesting way to gather support…..The contest entry is on YouTube and you can see what I have proposed by going to http://youtu.be/9dj6MybnOWk

To see the other entries….click here

okay, it’s not a look-alike contest. I *do* have just the smallest hint of salt-and-pepper in my beard though….. and for the record, I do not smoke cigars.

and yes, the contest is sponsored by the beer company that brews Dos Equis beer.  The contest rules are very clear that promoting beer does not have anything to do with the contest. (very interesting indeed).

There is no “vote” button per se; I think the votes are tallied by the number of video views. so – please encourage as many people as you can, to view the video.

Even if I do not win I will still be returning to Nepal in 2013; and If I win, I will use the money in addition to what I was already planning to spend.

Please share widely!

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in medical care in low income countries, medical volunteer in Nepal, nursing education, The Hospital at the End of the World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

