Jan 7th update for summer 2013 plans –


I am crossposting this on the blog.

This message goes out to every person who has still left open the possibility of joining us in Nepal in 2013 to be part of CCNEPal. As you can see, there are sixteen nurses who have responded to the general invitation for volunteers for the Nepal Critical Education Project.

First and foremost, circumstances change, and some of you may have decided not to consider it any more. If that is the case, please reply as soon as possible that you are no longer interested, and I will not send any future emails. I need to hear back from every one by January 21st (an arbitrary deadline…) (I have already heard from Sean & Jennifer and Sam, Manisha and Amanda – for those persons, you are ‘in”).

If I do not hear a positive response, I will automatically delete you from the list on Jan 21st.

Also, most of the time I hide the email addresses in the header, but this time I did not. In case you wish to ask a question, hit “reply all” so that everyone else can get in on any email discussion we may have. I think it is a good idea for every one to know who else has expressed an interest.

My skype address is joe.niemczura1 and I would be happy to skype with people who have more detailed questions. Let’s talk. Technology is available to us which can make the planning go so much easier!

If you still wish to join us, there are some things you need to consider. First, go to your doctor and discuss your international travel plans. Most cities have a travel clinic and can recommend immunizations and the like. It is up to you to handle this for yourself.

Some dates: I expect to arrive In Nepal Around May 18th or so, and stay until August 5th or thereabouts. I plan to buy my plane ticket around April 1st.

May 18 to June 1st – Joe arrives and will begin the last minute on-the-ground logistical and organizational planning.

June 1st to July 1st – plan to offer what I call the “3-day course” which will focus on ACLS prep skills for nurses. I hope to be able to fit in four or five of these 3-day sessions. We may or may not go to Bhairawa, Bharatpur, Dharan and some other places outside of the Kathmandu Valley. I hope to make a swing through the western Terai, which is a bit ambitious……

July 1st through the 15th – we will be based in Kathmandu Valley and focus on “official” ACLS classes, with the intention of reaching doctors as well as nurses during the period. In the past I did not offer an official ACLS card, but this will now be the case. To do this requires more complicated planning than I have done, and several of the volunteers above are in fact ACLS Instructors. Now, even if you are not presently one, do not fear: you can be very useful. But if there is the possibility that you can achieve this certification, please investigate this.

July 15th through 30 – still TBA. One of my daughters may be visiting at that time and I myself may do some trekking or sightseeing, but if not, I will add more course slots.

About clinical placement: In the past I have made contacts with schools of nursing and hospitals. The main focus of what I am doing is to train people in elementary critical care nursing skills, but I have been told by various people that if I had some body who wished to tour the hospitals or spend time observing a student clinical group working alongside faculty, that this could take place. I will try to get that to happen. Let me know if that interests you. If it happens, it won’t happen on Day One, until you get your bearings.

Also, about culture and language: on my blog I have an entry titled “twelve things you can do to prepare for global health nursing” – https://joeniemczura.wordpress.com/2011/05/08/twelve-steps-to-prepare-for-global-health-nursing/

And I urge you to make plans to put those into action. At least two of the people on the list above are native Nepalis, and will be able to help you get an introduction to this wonderful and fascinating culture from the perspective of a “local” – but this will be enhanced if you learn a bit of the language and study things beforehand.

Finally, go to http://www2.pacific.edu/sis/culture/index.htm And start studying this. This is an experience in culture shock, and you need to take steps to prepare for re-entry, before you even get on the outgoing plane. This site is may favorite for guiding you as to what to expect and how to learn about other cultures through the immersion process. Please do let me know when you look at this resource. Especially when we have newbies along, you can expect “unexpected stress” (which seems like a contradiction in terms.) the best way to get a handle on this is to learn the lingo of dealing with it now, and put it on the table before it gets out of control.

looking forward to hearing from you.

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in The Hospital at the End of the World and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

