ACLS equipment in Kathmandu


update: we decided that we simply did not have the capacity to do A full-fledged American-style ACLS course in Nepal; and we also realize that it probably won’t address the needs if we did…..

Twelve days of Christmas?

This week I am focusing on organizing whatever I can so that we will have enough equipment to offer a full fledged Advanced Cardiac Life Support course in Kathmandu. there is an official equipment list that is needed, just click here to see a pdf list of all the bells and whistles.

From this distance it is not easy, and it involves a lot of correspondence. Especially on a shoestring budget. In the past, I have spent my discretionary money to bring nursing textbooks with me.

this time around I am bringing a complete set of teaching materials that accompany the 2010 ACLS Standards of the American Heart Association. Posters, note cards, books, DVDs, CD-ROMs.

I have decided I will buy two rhythm trainers from Pinnacle Technologies. these are really useful in teaching mega-code skills.

Update June 5th: Once I arrived in Nepal, I shot a quick video that shows the A.T. 35 in action.  These have been a big hit.

There are other challenges in deciding to provide this. Originally I was worried because the requirement used to be that every participant needed to have a BLS card and I was not able to identy any BLS instructors. Fortunately, this has been revised. But the rest of the equipment does need to be organized. Another issue is to provide enough textbooks – adding fun to Mega-CodeI think i have that one covered. And other items from the list – fortunately we will be able to work on this when we get there.

stay tuned!

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in nursing education, The Hospital at the End of the World and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

