Update About Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) training component


We will focus on critical care nursing skills, but not do an “official” ACLS class.

As described in previous blogs, a lot of what I teach is based on materials from the American Heart Association (AHA) and my own background in teaching and applying Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) which is an official program of AHA. When you take an ACLS class in USA, you get an official card which is often used by employers to determine what your skill level is before employment.  Not just anybody can teach an “official” course – you need to be an “official” Instructor, submit an application, and prove that the course itself will meet certain standards.

I would have liked to have taught courses up to the official AHA standard in Nepal, and actually made tentative plans to bring two volunteer Instructors and also to obtain the needed equipment etc.

Today I learned that the two volunteers are not able to come to Nepal. We will adjust our plans. In truth, this will help us focus on what the professional nurses and docs in Nepal actually need, and it will eliminate some of the logistical problems that would have consumed so much time.

I will arrive in Nepal around May 14th, and will begin to cobble together the specific schedule once I get there.

This still involves arranging host sites, contacting the future participants, and trying to build community while there.

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in The Hospital at the End of the World and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Update About Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) training component

  1. Kalpana Paudel says:

    This type of training is very very necessary or all nursing teacher, nurses, nursing students.
    I am the teacher of nursing campus in Nepal, I am being involved in teaching for bachelor level student. The subjects which I am being involved are adult nursing & operation theater nursing & anesthesia.. BLS & ACLS are also the contents of operation theater. So if I get this training, it will give me more competent knowledge & skill to teach the student on this content. .

    For participation in this training, what should I do. in Nepal.

    Looking forward to hearing from you.

    kalpana Paudel

  2. please send email to joeniemczura@gmail.com or ccnepal2013@gmail.com please tell which college and which city.

    I arrive on May 14th. let’s talk . I will be happy to lead a session for your college in which you can enroll and also to enroll the students. because internet is unreliable and loadshedding happens, I plan to spend the first two week s organizing the exact schedule of sessions. I will present the 3-days training at different locations as long as people are willing to provide a classroom and students.

  3. sweta says:

    Hello sir, i am recently graduated BSN and even i would like to get critical care training for nurses. so i would like to know more regarding how can i get those trainning

  4. send an email as well as this. be sure to “like” the FB page. I will not be confirming the actual dates and locations until I arrive in Kathmandu May 14th and it will sometime after that. stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

