ACLS tip of the day on Twitter in Nepal 2013


Social Media has taken Nepal by storm

executive summary: go to @CCNEPal2013 and follow to get the ACLS tweet of the day.

In 2011 when I was planning my trip to Nepal I set up a FaceBook page in advance to advertise my educational sessions and got about 1,500 “likes” for that page. It was not by accident – I spent about $25 US Dollars to run a FaceBook ad to attract followers. The cost worked out to about ten cents a hit, which is very very inexpensive compared to what it would have cost in USA.

Nobody there uses email. Oh, they all get an email address because they have to have one in order to sign up for FaceBook, but the majority of young people never check theirs. FaceBook, it turns out, has features that fit Nepal really well. A large number  of people go to Cyber Café to access a computer, and FB is what they use.

Since 2011 there are people in Nepal who have set up FB pages for Nepali nurses, some of these have as many as 7,000 followers already. This is new and I hope to tap in to this. Nurses are getting organized!

Smartphones

I was told that during the civil war the government limited the availability of smartphones. Nowadays every one has one. They use them in imaginative ways -texting and taking photos and video like college students in USA. It is easy to have Twitter on a  smartphone.

When we do mega-code drills this summer, I will encourage students to video the mega-code drills of their team, to use for critique. Like we did last time.

Twitter

Contrary to what you may think, I am not a person who jumps on the next tech bandwagon the minute it starts to roll. But I am finally trying to figure out the value of Twitter and to put it to use. At first, I didn’t get it. Still not sure I do.  It seems as though it can help your message go viral faster than anything else out there. So I will use it to announce new blog entries and new events while in Nepal.

But there has to be something more, is what I keep telling myself….

ACLS Tweet of the Day

I do not presently know how many Nepal nurses are on twitter and I need a strategy to encourage people to sign up.  Sending a message that just says “follow me” is not enough to get people to do it. The best way is to show them something practical that will apply to their lives.  Given the 140-character limit, I decided to start a “tweet of the day” and of course, since the CCNEPal2013 project is about nursing critical care, each tweet will be a factoid or Pearl of Wisdom that Critical Care Nurses need to know. (I am a fountain of knowledge when it comes to these.)  I will tailor the daily tweet to the ACLS beginners.

Go to @CCNEPal2013 to look at the first samples. And if you know anybody who might like these, send them along!

 

PS – after you see some samples that show the level of information I am looking for, I invite you to tweet me some of your own….. and I will retweet.

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in nursing education and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

