an ambitious goal for CCNEPal 2013


If you don’t dream dreams, then your dreams will never come true.

settling in

The first few days here are consumed with setting up camp in Kathmandu. grocery shopping, getting a Nepali phone number ( which happens to be 980 10 96822)  and starting to meet people in person. You can only do so much with email. ( oh and by the way, if you wanna call me from USA you add 011 977 to the number above). I love my location at Shalom Guest House.

The goal: train 500 people with our 3-day course. By comparison, I trained 190 in 2011. This time I have a team with me and will rely on assistance from people who took the training in 2011. So, it’s not as if I am doing it all myself. Amanda Giles, RN  from Edmonton Canada  is the other main videshi. She and I spent some time going over the teaching approach. We will “tag-team” just about all of the classroom portions – picking up where each other leaves off. This will be incredibly helpful as one person will not need to “perform” on stage the whole time.  I will do a future blog to highlight the main members of the teaching team.

Mega-code is a big part of this

Of course, the course is more than just lecture, and there are others who will help with the mega-code portion. when you are doing guided small group simulated scenarios, we want to minimize the passive time, so with more small-group megacode leaders each subgroup gets more hands-on time.

Simple math

To make the plan into reality, some ciphering is required. If each session is 30 participants, then we need 17 sessions. I now have eight confirmed sessions, but haven’t announced some of them because there are logistical issues remaining. There are six more in the pipeline – details not confirmed.  I have to lay it out in a calendar to visualize. We will be doing back-to-back-to-back sessions for some periods in June and July. we will also be making a “road trip” to the Terai.

Be patient for just a little while longer

we are still negotiating with a variety of host agencies for additional sessions. Within a week or so I will post the list of training sessions on this page and the FaceBook page and it will include the registration process.

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal, nursing education, The Hospital at the End of the World and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to an ambitious goal for CCNEPal 2013

  1. Can I recommend a nurse who could really use this training. I represent http://www.adwannepal.org/ and one of the member here is a nurse who could really use the training.

  2. Kamala Shrestha says:

    I will also love to be the part of this session.

  3. anju says:

    SIR IT WILL BE MY PLEASURE IF I WILL BE THE PART OF THE SESSION.

Leave a Reply

