Palpa, home sweet home June 20 2013


Palpa

I am now in west-central Nepal, where I spent the first three summers, and it is different from KTM or Pokhara. much more traditional. I took two videos of the bus ride here, one inside and one outside the bus. It captures the drama of the scenery – every bit as spectacular as I remember it to be. and also the travels conditions.

I have simply had too many things happen ( all of them good) to write in the blog otherwise. Pokhara was terrific. On YouTube you can see my videos of Mario Hughes and Sushila Neupane, who were the contact people. they did a tremendous job. There is more to Pokhara than Lakeside.

Lumbini Medical College has an enthusiastic group. Some of the nurses need extra help on language so I am using my language-adaptive style to help them get it. A variety of techniques. we are doing role play, and when we do, the students’ role play is in all-Nepali, which is quite fun. They are helping me with my spelling of Devanagari.

Laundry

I got my laundry done. this is good. I was running out of clean dry clothes. I tried to handwash some stuff in Pokhara but it never dried – it started to ferment in some strange way and got worse. so now I can be respectable once again.

The time on the Road Trip has flown by. One way to look at it is, I have met 150 new people since June 9th, and I will meet thirtyfive more before the Road Trip is over. It’s a blur of faces, but everyone has been nice.

 

 

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in The Hospital at the End of the World and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

