and her name was …. anju…. *


LNC batch 

The first batch of 30 from LNC sessions was great. There are three more LNC batches to go, as well as a group in Jorpati, one in Bhaktapur, and the Big Group in Pokhara.  My pile of 500 certificates is now diminished  by 283 – more than half are gone.

I am replenishing my photocopies and getting ready for the remaining sessions. The Road Trip was tiring and realize I am just now recuperating from the travel. Fifteen days of teaching in an eighteen-day period. It was fun at the time, and the students were energizing.

Soundtrack for a bus ride

I posted a short YouTube clip of the bus ride from Pokhara to Palpa last week, when I finished my “Road Trip.”  It was a four-hour jaunt through the mountains on one of the curviest roads in this country. Just as  I left rainy Pokhara, the sun came out for the first time in days. The bus was crowded of course – about 34 people stuffed into 15 seats.

Does your life have a sound track?

The incredibly beautiful scenery of Palpa was heightened by the sound track. At the time I was glad the driver didn’t listen to Heavy Metal – the driving called for calm, not attitude. he had something really mellow and it was cranked up to the maximum. The music and the bus engine and the blue sky and the brilliant green paddies and the precipitous view all combined to create a relaxed state as if I was in a trance, meditating.

*don’t think. Just be,*  somebody once said.

“Ommmmm” somebody else said……

Om is the mantra of Ganesh. They say an elephant produces a low hum. Like a bus does…… And here I was, sharing a 15-passenger howdah powered by internal combustion.

The ride was about four hours. I had a good seat, fortunately. (First person to jump on in Pokhara).

Somehow the Nepali pop music fit the situation perfectly. I am a sucker for plaintive love songs, esp when the singer has such a nice voice. I have learned the name of the musical genre – ‘gajal’ music. fascinating to read the history.

Anju

And yesterday I figured out who produced such soaring emotion with her voice. Her name is Anju Pant and she is a star, as well she should be. Somewhere I read that her demographic listener would be sort of in the “easy listening” category if this were USA. She surely is sweet and melodious.

Good-bye Shreya

Move over, Shreya Ghoshal. You will always have a special place in my heart, but I am now listening to Anju in those moments of blissful harmony. And Anju sings in Nepali, not Hindi.

Oh Shreya, I still have you on mp3, I haven’t abandoned you. Maybe I’ll listen again, but for now I have a new playlist….. Please forgive me!

* PS – I looked at the blog statistics and there were fewer hits than usual, lately. My likelihood of meeting Anju Pant is – somewhere between low and nonexistent. But I learned long ago that nothing will boost the blog views  as much as an allusion to love and romance…. It’s the secret to all effective marketing.

PPS on this trip I have also discovered the simple fun of techno dance music in desi style – if there is anybody out there with suggestions for specific catchy tunes, send the titles my way….

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in The Hospital at the End of the World and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

