Announcement about additional sessions for CCNEPal


Additional sessions? July 20 2013

I have received many inquiries about how to enroll in the 3-day course. I appreciate the positive word-of-mouth that has come my way, and it has been an honor to teach here. All the groups have been great.

No new sessions will be added

After considerable thought I have decided not to add any more 3-day sessions to the schedule. I have only a few weeks left. I like doing the course but I also like Nepal itself and I want to enjoy. Who knows when I will be back!

Here is the updated schedule of sessions for CCNepal 2013

July 22, 23 and 24th @ LNC in Sanepa. Full

July 29,30 and 31st @ LNC -, Sanepa – full

Aug 4, 5 and 6th – Kist Teaching Hospital in Gwarko. (Ambhika Ghimire) ( possibly some seats, I dunno)

Aug 8, 9 and 10th – Pokhara. Sponsored by Kaski Sewa. Contact Mario Hughes. T8987146@live.tees.ac.uk there may be seats available. We are doing this to accommodate the seventy people on the waiting list for the first session, which was really a great bunch. It is the only session where I am not insisting on the 30-person maximum limit.

 Aug 11, 12 and 13 – Iwamura Hospital in Bhaktapur (Mansi Dobigaur)

Overall goal

The idea was to demonstrate the importance of these skills and create a wide base of knowledgeable people. My goal was to train 500 nurses. At this rate I will get to 560. In truth, I would have been happy if I had trained only 400

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

These blogs, and my books, and videos are written on the principle that any person embarking on something similar to what I do will gain more preparation than I first had, by reading them. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add to it fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011.
This entry was posted in The Hospital at the End of the World. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Announcement about additional sessions for CCNEPal

  1. Marie Michaud says:

    Honestly what a great project and what an achievment !!! I wish I had known about it earlier. I may have come along… Were you alone doing the teaching ? You will deserve a great time off and I wish you a beautiful “holiday time” without teaching any nursing !!!
    Are the schools and hospitals going to follow up on your work ?
    Did you find all the meds , even not ready to use syringes ?, and defibrillator and external pace ?
    Did the American Heart Association help you ?
    Anyway, do write about your incredible experience.
    For now just enjoy your time off in Nepal.
    Namaste Joe !
    Marie

    • dear marie – you asked the following

      Were you alone doing the teaching ?

      no. a he beginning I did have two other foreigners helping but the did not stay all summer. this course usually involves breaking into small groups for the role play sections, and m practice is to deputize two or three of the more savvy students to help run the small groups. you can find videos of his on youtube, and I am going to make an additional video today about low-tech training aids.

      Are the schools and hospitals going to follow up on your work ?

      I hope so. that was the point of offering the training so widely this time around.

      Did you find all the meds , even not ready to use syringes ?

      I do this with the least amount of props possible. the emphasis is on assessment. sometimes the hospitals provided equipment, other times not.

      Did the American Heart Association help you ?

      no. I use their protocols but I don’t each his as an official course from them, the have way too many requirements which are simply no feasible. Nepal is not at that level yet.

Leave a Reply

