CCNEPal 2014 springs into life. And monsoon will arrive tomorrow May 27 2014


Brief Summary

I am now in Nepal, and I am humbled by the welcome from so many people. I will be here until November 16th, then I go to USA to see my family, returning for January to May, 2015.

We are beginning to schedule the sessions of CCNEPal’s  3-day course.

dates and hosts

We only post the dates of a session when it is confirmed by the host agency.

June 8,9, 10 – CMC in Bharatpur, nurses #1

June 11, 12, and 13 – CMC in Bharatpur nurses #2

I will return in time to attend the Nepal Cardiology Society International meeting in KTM June 4 and 15th.

June 18, 19, and 20th – Dulikhel #1

June 22, 23 and 24th – Dulikhel #2

July 6,7 and 8th, – CMC #3 (MBBS)

July 9, 10 and 11th – CMC #4 (MBBS)

July 13, 14 and 15th – CMC #5 (MBBS)

July 16, 17 and 18th – Biratnagar at BPKIHS

What dates are open in June?

for those who absolutely must host a session, I could add another one in KTM Valley June 29 and 30 and July 1st. I need to pace myself. When I go to Terai on “road trip” I like to offer sessions back-to-back, but usually it will be one full session each week.

Yes, yes, yes I hope to get to Pokhara. I wanna go to BTWL too ! these are in planning stages.

Sessions open to all nurses not just those working at a host site?

I hope to conduct the “first-come first-served” sessions at LNC as in the past. These were my favorite and LNC has been wonderful to me. I have not met with them, we haven’t even begun to negotiate this, other than to pledge our mutual respect and admiration.

When we announce these sessions, we always get a flood of nurses to sign up. We will post specific instructions as to how to register, when the dates are set. Please do not contact LNC yet.  They have asked that we use some system to prevent a crowd from overwhelming their staff at time of registration.

Content of the sessions

this is a 3-day-in-a-row class. it covers material on how to assess and intervene with a person dying of heart problems, with an emphasis on teamwork. Click here to see the course outline. It’s based on an American Advanced Cardiac Life Support course, adapted to meet the needs of Nepal. For example, in USA they require teaching about AEDs, something not in use in this country. click here for a description of the course in Nepali. or here.

MBBS students and docs

New this year, we are offering some sessions for MBBS students. In USA, this course is always conducted in a mixed group of nurses, doctors, paramedics and respiratory therapists. This course is about teamwork. If there are MBBS students ( or interns or residents) that wish to have this course, ask your senior in-charge to contact me.

go to FaceBook and “like” the page for this course. click here.

there will be updates whenever a new set of dates is added.

 

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to CCNEPal 2014 springs into life. And monsoon will arrive tomorrow May 27 2014

  1. Yasoda basnet says:

    I would lik join your classes please say about the time

    • usually this is an allday class. the start time depends on whether it is at a hosted site or not. when a hospital hosts this aand their employees ar epaid to attend, it starts at the time the in-charge requests. when we do it at LNC it starts at 0900 because people need time to travel there.

  2. Nilu Budhathoki says:

    Hlo….
    I had passed my PCL Nursing last year.
    I also interested in that session.

  3. we will schedule future sessions, and when we do ,the instructions as to registering will be included.

  4. reshma dongol says:

    I m BSc nursing student waitinf for the last yr results.Can I join the class????

  5. anita bhattarai says:

    hello there….i m from bharatpur n completed m bachelors in nursing. and i am interested for the training going to be held on bharatpur on june

  6. ganga paudel says:

    I m PCL nursing student waiting for the last yr results.Can I join the class????

Leave a Reply

