list of upcoming sessions as of June 16, 2014


UPDATED JULY 1st to register for August sessions at LNC campus, go to the LNC Library. there are still seats available for some of the sessions.

schedule-as-you-go for CCNEPal

I don’t start filling up the calendar until I arrive here. It’s easier to have a face-to-face meeting with each potential host agency to discuss the assessment, the goals and methods. I am very fortunate and grateful that the 3-day course I deliver has received excellent word-of-mouth endorsements, and I thank all the past participants for this support.

I already did two sessions at Chitwan Medical College in Bharatpur.

Here is what is on the books:

Dulikhel Hospital #1 – June 18th, 19th and 20th (finished)

Dulikhel Hospital #2 – June 22nd, 23rd, and 24th ( finished)

July 7th and 8th,  – first 2-day session for MBBS students and new M.O.s at Chitwan Medical College Teaching Hospital, Bharatpur.

July 9th and 10th – second 2-day session for MBBS students and new M.O.s at Chitwan Medical College Teaching Hospital, Bharatpur.

July 11th and 12th – first 2-day session for Medical Officers at College of Medical Science, Bharatpur.

July 13th and 14th – second 2-day session for Medical Officers at College of Medical Science, Bharatpur.

July 16th, 17th and 18th, session for “CNE Planet” in Biratnagar.  Dipty Subba is contact person.

July 27th, 28th and 29th, session at Advanced Institute for Health Science, Butwal.  Jyoti Paudel is contact person.

August 3rd, 4th and 5th – LNC session #1 (now fully enrolled, no more seats available.)

August 6th, 7th and 8th – session #1 at Said Memorial Hospital in Kalanki. ( ? seats available for nurses not employed by SMH)

August 10th, 11th and 12th – LNC session #2 (now fully enrolled, no seats remain)

August 13th, 14th and 15th, session #2 at Said Memorial Hospital in Kalanki ( see above. maybe seats available)

August 17th, 18th and 19th – LNC session #3 (as of July 1st, 21 seats remain.)

August 24th, 25th and 26th – LNC session #4 (as of July 1st, nine seats remain unfilled.)

Pace of activity

I am on the same pace as in 2013.

Flexible to add more sessions.

I do have space for other sessions, for example I could add one in Bhairawha when I am nearby in BTWL.  I only work with host agencies that request me to come there. If you wish to have me come to a place where you practice nursing, tell your matron to contact me. I can give references.

Long term schedule

I will be here in Nepal until Nov 16th at which time I will go to USA for six weeks, then return from January until May 2015. I am aware that voluntary trainings are unlikely to be well-attended during Dasain. I wish to go on a short trek sometime around that time as well.

 

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

