doing ICU care in Bharatpur, Nepal – dispelling the myths


quick advert –

buy my second book about health care in Nepal. It’s a novel that draws upon my experiences here. It is about contemporary Nepal, and nobody in the book climbs Mount Everest or goes through a harrowing accident involving a glacier.

I just finished four days of training the staff of Chitwan Medical College Teaching Hospital in Bharatpur, Nepal. If you include the thirty people from last year, I have now trained about 140 nurses and doctors and medical students in Cardiac Life Support at CMC, the most of any individual hospital in the country.

Bharatpur is a medical nexus for the Terai. People come from long distances to seek medical treatment here. more than fifty per cent of the population of Nepal lives in the Terai.

I think there is a myth or fantasy that somehow, this part of Nepal consists only of thatched roof buildings and that they are only capable of delivering elementary care in a collection of dirt-floor huts made of mud-brick.  If you read the statements of people in Kathmandu, (whom I will not name) they seem to say that nobody outside Kathmandu can possibly know what they are doing.

I have had the opportunity to spend time here, get to know people, watch them in action, and look at their physical plant and equipment.

IN SUMMARY:  they have modern buildings and equipment and they are offering a high standard of critical care services appropriate to the needs of the community. They do know what they are doing, here.

to see up-to-date photos, click here

I decided to take some photos. I love wordpress but this is not the easiest way to post photos, and so I am creating a photo album on the FaceBook page for CCNEPal.

 

 

 

 

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in medical care in low income countries, medical volunteer in Nepal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to doing ICU care in Bharatpur, Nepal – dispelling the myths

  1. Pingback: May 28 report of CCNEPal part three | CCNEPal 2015

Leave a Reply

