Updated Schedule for CCNEpal 2014 as of July 21, 2014


Where have I been?

Just got back from two weeks in the Terai. Mostly Bharatpur but also Biratnagar. I loved the people in Biratnagar, though I was so busy teaching I really never left the hotel. I taught “double session” there – one group of thirty from 0800 to 1 PM; then an hour off before teaching the next group of 25 from 2 to 7 PM.

At the end of each day I was tired.

CNE Planet

This is the name for a group that provides Continuing Education for Nurses, located in Biratnagar. They were my hosts. I was excited to learn about their mission.  find them on FaceBook at https://www.facebook.com/groups/309310719106884/

What about the Terai?

I think every foreign medical volunteer needs to go to Terai. For at least part of their trip, and not just to ride an elephant.

Fifty per cent of the population of the country lives in the southern valleys that make up the Terai, and now we have a half-dozen medical schools and teaching hospitals there, all of which are dedicated to improving the health of the population. Some medical schools in Kathmandu talk about sending their graduates to the rural areas; these schools in the Terai are actually doing it.

UPDATED SCHEDULE

There have been cancellations and additions to the CCNEPal schedule since I last wrote.

July – session in Butwal is cancelled. I will happily make a Road Trip to Butwal/Bhairawha at some future time but I need a host in each location. I don’t go to any place unless the in-charge people invite me.

July 29th and 30th; then again July 31st and August 1st – two, two-day sessions for MBBS docs in Bharatpur at CMS. I am still experimenting with the best way for the 2-day version for docs. it’s been well-received so far. this time we will have a smaller group.

LNC Sessions in August

August 3, 4 and 5; 10,11 and 12th; these two sessions are fully enrolled.

August 17, 18 and 19th – there are still seats available for this session at LNC campus in Sanepa. to register, go to LNC Library with 1200 nrs fee.

August  24, 25 and 26th -still seats available for this session at LNC campus in Sanepa. to register, go to LNC library with 1200 nrs fee.

August 6,7 and 8th; 13, 14 and 15th – sessions at Said Memorial Hospital in Kalanki. there may be a few seats available, send me an email. joeniemczura@gmail.com  due to small size of classroom we limit the number of enrollees.

open dates in August in KTM – I would be willing to add a session on August 20, 21 and 22 in KTM Valley. I would also possibly add a session on August 27, 28 and 29th. please send email to joeniemczura@gmail.com

Terai again

Sept 3rd through 16th – I will be in the Terai again at CMS in Bharatpur. 3,4 and 5th; 10,11 and 12th; 14, 15 and 16th for 3-day nurses sessions. we will do a 2-day MBBS session at CMS September 7th and 8th.

open dates in September in Terai – I could add a 3-day session the 18th, 19th and 20th in Terai. I figure that once I am there I might as well be there, as opposed to coming back and forth from KTM all the time.

Sept 25th to Oct 10th – is Dasain and Tihar. do you seriously think anybody will take a class at that time? I don’t think so either!

Oct 12,13 and 14th; 19th,20th and 21st; 22nd, 23rd and 24th; a series of 3-day sessions at Lumbini Medical College Teaching Hospital in Palpa district. also, a 2-day session for MBBS docs Oct 16th and 17th (tentative).

Nov 6th in Dulikhel, I have agreed to speak at a conference on evidence-based practice.

Nov 15th – the Nepal Society of Critical Care Medicine is hosting the First Ever national conference on critical care. I plan to go.

Nov 16th – I return to USA for a few weeks holiday with my daughters. I expect to be back in Nepal about January 2nd.

 

 

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in nursing education and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

