for Nepali Nurses thinking of Canada PR status


note: if you found the link on Facebook – please do not send me a FB friend request. I don’t accept requests for people I do not know.

also, why not buy my book? The Sacrament of the Goddess will be released in Nepal soon.

Permanent Residency

A friend of mine asked me to help her figure out how to apply for P.R. status in – Canada.

I know how to ice skate on a frozen pond. I am a Boston Bruins  hockey fan. I have been to Canada. My daughters read the Anne of Green Gables books when they were little. But – until now I never gave much thought to Canadian Immigration. Why should I?

The first thing was, she told me that she checked out a consultancy on Putali Sadak, and it was going to cost “three lahks and fifty thousand rupees” which she did not have. Could I possibly help her? And how can I resist the entreaties of a damsel in distress! A Lahk is a hundred thousand. so – using a currency converter, I figured that this was $3510 in American money. I had no idea as to what they charge. On the scale of things, $3510 is not too too much for an American, but when the nurse is being paid $240 per month in Nepal, it is a lot of money.

Online Assessment

She said everyone told her that there was an online assessment she could take, but she and her friends were not able to find it. She sent me the link to the one she was going to complete. It was obvious right away that this was a commercial site, and mostly interested to collect her personal information so that they could give her a sales pitch.

Hmmmmm, I said, with furrowed brow. She showed me the links on her laptop, and there was a problem. there is one named canadianimmigration dot org and another named www.canadianimmigration dot com and another named canadianpr dot net .  It was easy to see that not one of these was an official government website. To make matters worse, there was a spot on the official site for advertising, and the ad showed a Canadian flag with a link to a self-assessment quiz that looked official, but was not.

Lesson #1

So, the first lesson of Canadian immigration is, be sure the site you are visiting is the one run by the government, especially if you are trying to go to the source and not a consultancy.

Here is the link to the site run by the Canadian Government.

Here is the link to check your eligibility> this is the actual link.

http://www.cic.gc.ca/ctc-vac/getting-started.asp

(link updated since the first one was wrong…..)

Lesson #2

There seem to be multiple pathways to get to Canada. This advice is independent of applying to go to graduate school there. And also, this applies only to the Canadian Federal Government, not to the Provinces.

Lesson #3

The system is evidently changing in January 2015, but the length of the process will stay the same: It takes six months to get approved. Also, if you have a job offer in hand, the process is faster. So – somehow you need to get the job offer. I presume that is where the consultancy adds value to this particular process. Without the consultancy, an individual nurse has a limited chance of getting such an offer. The nurse would need to compose a resume, fill out the job applications, and send it online, then do a Skype interview with the potential employer. Somewhere on the site it said if you go there with no job you need to prove that you have enough money to support yourself, which for an unmarried nurse is $11,600 dollars in cash.

Lesson #4

Oh, and did I say that you need to take the license exam? and also have a good IELTS score? They speak English, sort of. But you get extra points if you speak French, because that is the major language of Quebec.

Lesson #5

I have this idea that if the government matches you with a nursing job, it has a higher-than-average chance of being in a geographical area that is less-desired by the Canadian nurses. If they have a shortage in a particular spot, there may be a reason why…..

It’s a whole nother maze of governmental rules to learn…..

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to for Nepali Nurses thinking of Canada PR status

  1. I am a registered nurse from Nepal and i have finished 3 yrs nursing and have 2 years experience in hospital as a staff nurse. I am currently seeking to get registered in canada state. If anyone can give me some idea and information regarding registration in Canada.What is the first step to procced an application?

  2. Pingback: Nepali Nurses working as “caregiver” in Canada Nov 26, 2014 | CCNEPal 2015

  3. sarjum lama says:

    I want to know about care giver for Nepali nurses n how can I apply for this and please let me know details

    • Sarjum Ma’am:

      The point of the two blogs on Canada, is that it is not a good idea. It is not the best use of your education. I am opposed to any scheme that exploits Nepali nurses. You should also be.

Leave a Reply

