review of The Sacrament of the Goddess by a Nepali person Oct 2014


Jan 31st update: The book  release party was a blast. In USA get the book on Amazon. In Nepal, go to Thamel. You can buy it at Tibet Books on Tri Devi Marg, or else Vajra Books on Jyatha. It will be distributed to more book stores in the near future as well.

Note: this book will be officially released in Nepal January 24th 2015 with a public concert by the renowned Everest Band Baja, a sixteen-member Nepal wedding band. The public is invited. It will be at Patan Durbar Square from 2 to 4 PM – bring the family. Tell your friends! click here for more info

warning: spoiler alert.

If you don’t want to read one of the twists and turns of the book, don’t continue!

 THE SACRAMENT OF GODDESS

”Today, I felt my heart inundated with an elegant blend of emotion, feelings of love overshadowing the sadness, rays of respect enlightening the hatred. You know! I am not the one that I was yesterday. I have a vigor mounted to that summit from where I can fathom the depth of life, explore me and my ethnicity, the Humanity. Yes! today I have ‘The sacrament of goddess’ between my thumb and the index finger with my eyes acquainted with its every pages and my heart drenched in its every scenarios.”, I thought quietly, and made a mental note to gratify the king of that creativity, Joe Niemczura.

Suddenly, I looked next to me in my room and quickly turned around the window as soon as I noticed that I was not there alone. A feeling of shame and fear mingled through my veins, I wished my sister didnot see me as the drops of tear rolled down my cheeks and two of them ended up making the 1/100th of the page of book wet. Helplessly, I was witnessing the inhumane scenario of (spoiler of dramatic plot twist edited out from this spot…)  I felt it, I saw it, not through my eyes but through the writer’s. Can you imagine it??

This is why, I call writing is a magic!

Yes! I have their photographs in the gallery of my mind. I know the way they look, the way they talk and behave. Though they donot know me, I can say how Matt looks like, I can exactly picture the smile of Sushila, I have a clear idea about the behave of Dr. Ranjit in operation theatre..I have obvious pictures of Sara, Arjun, Captain Gurung, Sushila’s mother and Matt’s parents. I have kept the record of every details of them being completely invisible to them. Can you believe it???

Oh! Thats why, I call writing is a magic!!

I have no idea, How can I pay my debts to this guy who arranged my travel upto Beni, Uk and USA, who arranged the visits with so many wonderful people, who displayed the numerous stories of life.. just within a single day. Have you heard anyone completing all of these stuffs in such a short period? You may be thinking.. no… never…

But see, I am here who did it some days back. I know you would surely love to.

The respect of the Nepali culture, religion and appreciation of the different dimension of life in the countries like Nepal are there in the novel that mount your feeling of patrotism, love and the unbound grace of humanity.

To realise a true sense of the dynamic relation between the writer, the characters and the reader, with the ascended sensation of love for the people, country and life in the universe you must go through ”THE SACRAMENT OF GODDESS” once.

Regards,

Asmita Panthi

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal, nepali culture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

