Looking for a nurse to appear in ecg teaching videos, Jan 6 2015


CCNEPal is back from holiday in India. It was nice but it’s even nicer to see all my friends and to start talking about advancing critical care in Nepal again.

The main thing that CCNEPal does is to teach the 3-day class in critical care skills. We have conducted fifty sessions of this course since 2011. In 2014, 708 people took the training. (If you don’t believe me, go to the FB page for CCNEPal. there is an album of pics with every single person, in one group shot after another.)

There always needs to be willingness to consider other approaches, and while I was away I had this idea, of creating a series of short YouTube videos to cover some of the concepts, in Nepali language. There will be those who say “My English is just fine, I don’t need to hear it in Nepali” but these videos would be directed to every member of the team. You can be a fine nurse even if your English is not the best. You should not be prevented from learning the concepts just because of language problem. An ecg is the same whether the person looking at it speaks English, Nepali or Chinese!

What I envision is, a series of videos, each one five minutes in length, posted on my YouTube channel.

What CCNEPal  needs is a person who is familiar with the concepts, who is comfortable on camera, and who doesn’t mind being seen on camera.

CCNEPal will provide the teaching materials to use during each. Please note: this is a volunteer project. CCNEPal is not able to pay the person who does it.

If you are interested, please send an email to me at joeniemczura@gmail.com

Oh, and on  Saturday, January 24th at 2 PM there will be a book release party at Patan Durbar Square in Lalitpur, to celebrate The Sacrament of the Goddess. you are invited.

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

