CCNEPal “Road Trip” in #Nepal update as of April 20th 2015


UPDATED schedule for Road Trip. CCNEPal has trained more critical care nurses than any other NGO in Nepal, over a wide geographic area.

The session at P.U. in Biratnagar was great – 47 nurses took the training and I also met with administrators who were supportive of the idea of expanding this to every college under the affiliation of P.U., in future.

April 12th 7 13th; 14th & 15th; 16th & 17th; 19th & 20th. Four two-day sessions  of the course at CMC, are now a fond memory for me. The groups were terrific. See the FB page for photos. I worked with the teaching team as they conducted the training while I stayed in background – CMC is fully capable and qualified to train on their own – without me. that has always been the goal. Hooray!

April 21st – travel day from Bharatpur to Bhairawaha. by bus. I will pass the scene of my bus accident. I wonder if the carcass of the bus will be laying there?

April 22nd, 23rd and 24th – three-day session of the Critical Care Course, for nurses at Universal College of Medical Sciences (UCMS) in Bhairawaha. I was there in 2011 and they were wonderful to me.

April 26th & 27th; 28th & 29th; April 30th/May 1st – At UCMS. three two-day sessions of the course, with a focus on medical officers, MBBS students, and interns. The interns will be finishing their time at UCMS, and this course will help them be ready for possible assignment  to smaller health posts.

May 3rd, 4th & 5th – three-day session for UCMS nursing students.

May 6th & 7th  – travel from Bhairawaha to Jumla. By shuttle vehicle. Jumla is in Western Nepal.

May 8th, 9th & 10th; then again 11th, 12th  and 13th – two threeday sessions in Jumla at Karnali Academy of Health Sciences, for hospital nurses, doctors, medical students – everyone. I will be working with the anesthesia department to help them learn how to teach this course.

May 14th & 15th -travel from Jumla to Butwal. Overland. Then a day off May 16th in Butwal, enjoying one of Nepal’s  underappreciated wonders!

May 17th, 18th & 19th – Mayadevi Technical College in Butwal.

May 20th – travel.

May 21st & 22nd, 24th & 25th; 26th & 27th – three 2-day sessions at College of Medical Sciences in Bharatpur.

May 28th – travel to Kathmandu. I suppose you could call it “home” – but – what & where is “home” – that’s what I want to know.

May 29th – one day “make up day ” for small group that was unable to attend LNC session #4 due to bandh. AT LNC.

May 30th – Tribhuwan International Airport. When I get on the plane, I will  look back on a wonderful year in Nepal and India.

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

