What would Florence Nightingale do if she were in #Nepal right now after the #earthquake?


What would Florence Nightingale do?

I have a suggestion for all my nursing colleagues in Kathmandu. There are evidently many places where people are living outside. I am outside the Valley, and reading everything I can get my hands on. I saw these reminders on FaceBook about using the proper toilet, washing hands etc. Somebody reminded that we were already having Swine Flu and we don’t want to get it out of control…..

Nepal was already having problems with Swine Flu. we can all work together to organize the people in the streets so as to prevent spread of disease.

Nepal was already having problems with Swine Flu. we can all work together to organize the people in the streets so as to prevent spread of disease.

I know there are many nursing students and many unemployed nurses. The people living outside probably don’t have faceBook…..You don’t need somebody’s permission to start using your nursing skills on the people around you!

I wonder if it’s possible to do the following on a voluntary basis.

1) wear your uniform and go to a site where people are living.  Make a sign that says who you are, and set up an “office”
2) go around and check everyone there – take b/p, find out their meds, and see if they are okay. you can screen them to decide if they need to go to doctor or health post. maybe this will help unclog the hospitals.
3) teach a class about disease prevention – just like you were still in nursing school.
4) get the children organized. I think the children especially need reminders about handwashing etc because they are the ones who don’t know the rules yet.

I am not there in Kathmandu, but like the rest of the entire world, my prayers are with you. If you think this list above would work, start doing it and share this post with others. If you don’t think it would work, try something else….

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What would Florence Nightingale do if she were in #Nepal right now after the #earthquake?

  1. Kalpana Paudel says:

    Dear Jeo
    I agree with you. many Nepalese nurses are unemployed and stay at home. I think, this is the time to show our nurses knowledge,skill and power as well as effortless dedication toward nation. This is the time for planting of nursing leadership and management skill into action for the public because this time is very critical. Nurses can play vital role to prevent and spread of diseases after disaster and promote health by initiation of simple awareness about health and hygiene. Really in this time,I am thinking in mind that you wrote on email. Small and simple devotion can bring prevent big challenges. . Please help to Nepalese nurses how to unite, how to make plan and how to put plan in to action. Thanks. I am so happy to see you email. I heartily appreciate your words.
    Kalpana Paudel

Leave a Reply

