USA – #Nepal show #solidarity with #NepalEarthquake victims using prayer flags


The best thing a concerned American can do, is to send money to a reputable aid organization that is working in Nepal. My favorite would be the American Nepal Medical Foundation.

I was talking with my daughter in Rockville Maryland and she asked for some prayer flags. sure, why not?

You see prayer flags everywhere in Nepal. On each flag is a prayer, and when the wind blows, it reads the message and sends it to the universe. Boudhanath, the iconic temple of Kathmandu, is breathtaking for many reasons, but among them the colorful flags of Buddhist belief system.

Then we both had the idea: why not ask every concerned American to put up some prayer flags as a gesture of solidarity and support?

The earthquake aftermath is still in the acute phase. Nepal has the attention of the world, but it is inevitable that the gaze of world media will move to the next crisis, at some future point. When that happens, the people of Nepal will still be there. Recovery from an earthquake of this magnitude is going to take decades of work.

For that reason, I think putting up prayer flags will help.

Namaste!

PS – about me – I am an American RN who has been coming to Nepal since 2007 and I teach critical care skills to nurses and doctors here.  I have written two books about health care in Nepal, take a look.

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to USA – #Nepal show #solidarity with #NepalEarthquake victims using prayer flags

  1. Tracy J. says:

    Joe, How can we get our make a prayer flag? Tracy

    Date: Wed, 29 Apr 2015 22:45:18 +0000 To: tluvs2read@outlook.com

  2. Tracy – in most large American cities there is a south Asian store or even a countercultural hippie store…… find them there. I am not a manufacturer of these things and I have no financial stake in this. All I did was have the idea. Google it and see the design, it’s usually five primary colors – white, blue, red, green and yellow.

    I would suggest to the Nepal government or some Nepal charitable group, to take this idea and run with it. I am not minimizing the acute pain of all the people around here, but – we need to start now to build awareness for the rebuilding over the long haul……

  3. Great idea with the flags. I have told my students of your work there. Very noble and so very needed. I see that the Chicago Institute of Art is featuring purses made in Nepal. Maybe they might go with the idea. Keep up the good work and stay safe. The world is a better place because of you.

Leave a Reply

