CCNEPal calendar update May 16th – from Butwal, Nepal


CCNEPal whereabouts

In Butwal and Rupandehi district. I’m teaching at Gautam Buddha Community Heart Hospital in Butwal. This was not on the original itinerary but – things happen……

May 12th aftershock

The Government told all the schools to close for two weeks, after the May 12th event. Serious recovery and relief work is still going on in the hills. For me, this meant that three of my planned hosts agencies cancelled. I used FaceBook to send a message about my availability, and that’s how I ended up at Crimson Hospital then GBCHH. I did three three-day sessions in a row. I will add another session at GBCHH starting Sunday May 17th.

so my remaining time is

May 17th, 18th and 19th – GBCHH in Butwal.

May 24th, 25th and 26th – location TBA in Palpa.

May 27th – return to Kathmandu

May 30th fly out, to USA.

2015 summary

since January I have done 23 sessions. A total of 687 nurses and docs got a certificate. All but five were outside the Kathmandu Valley.

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

