August 23rd 2015 CCNEPal update


I checked the statistical report of blog hits and I see that the home page, and whatever is there, is still getting a lot of hits every day. So – I need to put up something substantive instead of just saying that I was taking a hike.

The Trek is Finished.

My trek along the Appalachian Trail was really fun, though. I hiked 49 miles in one week. This was not anywhere near my best mileage or my best daily mileage – I knew I was out of shape from the beginning and I was not “pushing it.” It was mostly on a flat section with lots of lakes and streams.

Florida

For the last ten days I have been in Florida, visiting my parents, who just moved in to “Assisted Living” in Tampa. I have been staying with my sister, the same one who visited me in Nepal.

Washington DC

Tomorrow I will go to Washington DC, and visit my older daughter and her husband. I’m planning to take the Amtrak Train there – I like this mode of travel.

Nepal

I have been following the Nepal news. Right now they are having a) a bandh in eastern Terai; b) demonstrations in Jumla, Surkhet, and Bhairawaha, along with the Janajatis and Tharuhat; c) the anti-corruption movement in which nurses are protesting the “volunteer system” d) the RRP  agitating for designation Hindu state, which in my view would lead to persecution of Christian Nepalis; e) continued aftershocks; and f) possibility that the new constitution will regress the rights of women (and dalits) to the level before 1990, let alone 2006.

Oh, and I did I forget to mention the earthquake reconstruction from the big one? Or the ongoing issue of medical education, protesting the proliferation of low quality schools?  They have a lot to contend with in Nepal these days.

My book

In my novel, The Sacrament of the Goddess, a major scene takes place with a demonstration in the hospital courtyard while the doctors and nurses are barricaded inside.  This week, there was a police shooting in Kathmandu that led to a huge crowd in the courtyard of TUTH, the largest and most prestigious teaching hospital in the capital. Life imitates art. Of course, the scene in my novel was based some true stories, but still – it was a bit eery. The event at TUTH did not hurt any body. Read the book to find out what happens in the novel…. it is told from the perspective of the health care workers. Caught in the middle.

The only good side? my twitter feed (@CCNEPal2013) includes many Nepali sources and I am making a concerted effort to be better at reading devanagari.  I am gaining more skill in this area.

Future plans

I will resume teaching nursing in USA this fall, in only a few short weeks. I have decided to move to the mainland. More on this later.

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

