CCNEPal goes to CUGH 2016 in San Francisco, April 8th to 11th


CCNEPal will be at the meeting of the Consortium of Universities for Global Health 2016 Annual Meeting in San Francisco, CA April 8th through 11th.

Click here for the conference program.

Poster Presentation

Final Poster Number on Poster Board: 2.037_HRW
Abstract Title: Use of Simulation to Support Role Development for Nurses and MBBS Doctors in Nepal
Presentation Date: Sunday, April 10, 16
Presentation Time: 12.45pm – 2.15pm
Category/Session name:
Poster Presentations: Human Resources and Workforce II
Room: Golden Gate Ballroom (Lobby Level)

We hope to see you there.

Impressions

I am blown away by the breadth and quality of the speakers, the tracks,the breakouts, the location, and of course, the other poster presentations. There are at least a dozen other posters about ongoing projects in Nepal.

Paranda

CCNEPal will be giving away trinkets, starting on day one. The specific trinket is a “Paranda” – a hair tassel. (best for people with long hair.)

A paranda looks like this:
paranda 6.jpg

It’s braided into a person’s hair. In Nepal it’s very traditional, but these days not worn as often as before. A paranda is “fun.”

Here is a YouTube video showing what this is like. Fast Forward to about 4:24 to see the trick of braiding it on.

I will be giving these away to anybody that talks to me about Nepal. You will be able to find me because I will be wearing a topi, a traditional Nepali cap.

DSC03032a

My main goal is to network with people. I don’t take myself too seriously!!

And of course, to read about the CCNEPal project, browse the other blog entries on this site.

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal, Nepal earthquake medical needs, nepali culture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CCNEPal goes to CUGH 2016 in San Francisco, April 8th to 11th

  1. Deepti singh says:

    Hello
    I am Deepti ,a BN,interested to have critical care training in Nepal .I follow your posts from last year but did not get reply of my comments.

    I worked in India as a nursing tutor for 4 years after completion of BN and also have experience in medical and oncology ward as a bedside nurse after my nursing diploma.

    I am now settled in Nepal .

    I also worked with Nurse teach reach to facilitate their trip in Nov-2014 .

    I have no idea how to take admission for the course you teach.I am not working right now and I heard that you teach in hospitals .

    Please guid me..

Leave a Reply

