July 21st report for the summer and upcoming schedule


I’m back in Bharatpur, where I was a month ago. The return bus ride through eastern Terai was wonderful – like riding through The Shire.

Statistics to date:

As of today I taught 19 sessions, with 560 certificates awarded.  The present plan is to teach five more sessions, with possibly 150 more certificates – if that works out it will mean I trained 710 nurses, doctors and others, this summer. On the FB page, I made a photo album that consists of one group picture for each batch.

IMG_20160719_141307_panorama_edit

It is a large number of people, and the goal has been to introduce the idea of ACLS as widely as possible.

IMG_20160702_185248_edit

The schedule?

July 24th, 25th, and 26th – Chitwan Medical College staff nurses.

July 27th, 28th and 29th – Chitwan Medical College B Sc Nursing students

July 30th – travel to Kathmandu via bus. should be the final bus trip of summer 2016. Hooray!

July 31st, Aug 1st Aug 2nd – BN students at a school of nursing in Kathmandu.

August 3rd, 4th, 5th – Norvic Hospital, Thapathali

August 6th, 7th and 8th – possibly a hospital in southern Kathmandu Valley.

August 11th – return to USA.

It’s been a productive summer and I have brought the info to new places. I previously taught 2,170 people, the grand total will now bump up to 2,880 if the plan holds up. Many thanks to all who made it possible.

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

