Janakpur visit summer 2016, part one – the town


I spent the summer of 2016 teaching the CCNEPal course in Nepal, mostly in Terai. I was invited to teach in Janakpur, in eastern Terai for two weeks. It turned out to be a highlight of the summer. I am proud of what I was able to help them accomplish there. I am writing two blogs about Janakpur. The first one will just tell about the town and the second will focus on the medical scene there.

untitled

The Janiki Mandir celebrates the Ramayana, a famous Vedic epic from ancient times.

Janakpur is in an out-of-the-way section of Nepal, and it is a miniature version of Benares in many ways. The main language is Maithili, not Nepali or Hindi.

IMG_20160625_090740

Hanuman figures in the tale of Ram and Sita, and so there is a temple for him. The woman in the picture offers puja at a bo tree on the ground of the Hanuman Mandir

The Town

This is still in progress but I thought I would publish the rough version.

To learn about the town, there still is no better place to start than the BBC series on railways in India, that features the last railway in Nepal:

The tracks are being completely redone, and the railway station is not serving any travelers. I was told that during monsoon, the only way to get to the villages along the rail line is by the train – none of the roads are passable. People living there need to have all their supplies in, before the rain starts.

Next is a fourteen-minute English-language travelogue touting a packaged tour for Hinu pilgrims. (not my video, obviously)

Lex

Here is another English-language video, four minutes. The narrator decided to highlight parts of Nepal that were *not* Pokhara or Chitwan. Bravo!

Here is a ten-minute video that shows daily life in a village. It’s in Maithili; Note the wattle-and-daub construction –  typical of this region of Nepal.

Summer monsoon 2016

I left the eastern Terai one day before the serious rains started.  Above is an aerial view of the floods as they impacted Janakpur. This is no joke!

The bus stop

IMG_20160702_083507_hdr

yes folks, this is how I roll in Terai. This one was going to Itahari, from Itahari I transferred to the Biratnagar bus. On the Biratnagar bus I received a marriage proposal. I declined.

IMG_20160625_133322

the main truck route through Janakpur. You’ll know you have arrived when you see the fanciful gateway. directly east of the gateway about five blocks, is the Janaki Mandir. the highway itself at this point, is not scenic.

helpful guy at the ticket shop

There are few English speakers likely to be found at the bus stop. Look for this shop on the western side of the road, and this guy. He speaks English and is very friendly and helpful.

IMG_20160625_133018

on the west side of the highway this guy in the white t-shirt speaks English and was friendly.

here is a better shot of the guy, his name is Ram.

IMG_20160625_132952

Agriculture activity

IMG_20160619_091829_edit

out front of the JHCRC hospital one morning. they are taking the bamboo to a construction site.

One Planet

IMG_20160622_191338

the local dalits keep pigs and eat pork – something no Hindu or Muslim would do. A squad of pigs roams the town. In public health, there is a movement known as “One Planet” which acknowledges that when humans live in close proximity to animals, both domestic and wild, the health of all must be considered, not just homo sapiens

Cyber Cafe

IMG_20160624_174340

wi fi was available at the hospital, but I found the one and only cyber café in town. reasonable rates. not far from Janiki Mandir, on the road to the zonal hospital.

I stayed on the premises of the host hospital, but most foreigners go to one particular hotel downtown:

IMG_20160625_092514

my hosts offered to put me up here, it’s where most westerners stay. But I was fine with the accommodations at JHCRC. I never did eat at this restaurant either.

While we are at it, in the vicinity of the hotel is the one and only “Department Store” of Janakpur. I always check to see if they have a) “organic coffee”  and b) peanut butter. They did not stock either item. They did carry many other western items though.

IMG_20160625_092559

the main drag of Janakpur goes from Ganga Taal to the railway station. at the back of this alleyway is the department store. They did not yet carry “organic coffee”

 

IMG_20160625_093314

inside the department store n the main drag of Janakpur

 

IMG_20160618_195101

Saturday evening Hindu worship at Ganga Taal. This is popular. There are thirty lakes in the city limits. On the far of this one is the funeral ghats of the town.

Janaki Mandir

IMG_20160625_172722_panorama

in front of the Mandir is a plaza. They were televising a tent meeting the week I was there.

The centerpiece of the town is the Janaki Mandir. Here’s a short video showing how it’s decorated with lights:

A sacred cow

IMG_20160628_185740

my cousin read this blog and she asked as to the significance of the pink cow. My reply? *what* pink cow? I don’t see a pink cow!”

Puja Supplies

IMG_20160628_190001

a portable shop for textile puja items.

More puja supplies

IMG_20160625_172558

these are inexpensive.a staple of home puja altars in South Asia.

and more

IMG_20160618_155120

pujas supplies on the plaza of Janiki Mandir

Because of Ram and Sita, a love story, the temple is popular for weddings, and something that astounded me was the number of processions, usually at night, and always with – a brass band. Sometimes  two or three parades converged on the plaza at the same time – glorious chaos!

The Ram mandir is a stone’s throw away. The backside of the Ram Mandir is under construction:

IMG_20160630_184649

the backside of the Ram Mandir was under construction. There is an interior courtyard for Kali at this site, I’m told it’s quite a scene during Dasain. to the right, out of the picture, is a lassi shop and pan shop, well worth the visit.

Front of the Rama Mandir

much more imposing, don’t you think?

IMG_20160630_185633

the main entrance to the Rama Mandir. Much grander than the back!

Dahi

Dahi is yogurt. I eat a lot of it as a preventive measure, but none of the shops carried any.

IMG_20160630_191619

here is where reading devanagari comes in handy. I would have walked past if I had not been able to read the sign advertising “dahi” – fresh yogurt. This shop is near the mandir, headed towrd the water storage tower.

I had some, and it was creamy and wonderful. I thought it rivaled the yogurt of Bhaktapur.

IMG_20160630_191547

I asked to take a photo and the shopkeeper got a new vat of yogurt out of the fridge. the yogurt here is every bit as good as the fabled yogurt of Bhaktapur!

 

Lassi

IMG_20160625_174827

I found the lassi place on my own accord, then I was told this is considered to be the best in the district. Mitho 6! The guy behind the steel counter is the pan saudji – i.e., betel nut. In my experience, betel nut is more popular in Terai.

Leaves for Pan

IMG_20160630_184450_edit

Basket of leaves in the marketplace, arranged just so. I learned that this is how the pan sellers like them. When you buy pan, there is a ritual of how it is prepared at point of sale.

IMG_20160624_184612_panorama

a panoramic shot of the front of the temple, showing the plaza.

IMG_20160626_144933_panorama_edit

I was in Janakpur to teach critical care skills, and taught five sessions with about 125 participants. (the pic shows just one of the groups…) I’ll do a separate blog on the actual teaching. Together we worked to strengthen critical care practice in a town serving about 600,000 people.

 

IMG_20160701_174038_edit1

My”token of Love” from Janakpur was a silk screen done in Maithili style (note the iconic eyes) depicting a wedding. I shall cherish this!

 

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Janakpur visit summer 2016, part one – the town

  1. Pingback: Janakpur summer 2016 – part 3 – JHCRC | CCNEPal 2015

Leave a Reply

