Janakpur summer 2016 part 2 (of 3) – JMC Teaching Hospital


There will be a part 3 to describe Janaki Health Care and Research Center – JHCRC.

This one is about Janaki Medical College Teaching Hospital – city branch.  JMC TH.

When I go to Nepal I always start with a blank slate. I know I’ll be invited here or there. This time I wanted to make a swing through the Terai.  Since my bus accident last year, I  wanted to minimize bus travel.

I wanted to go to Janakpur, since it was halfway between Bharatpur and Biratnagar. So when I got an invite out of the blue, I said yes.

Janakpur and their travails

For those not in the know, Janakpur has a medical college and they had some turmoil two or three years ago. The medical college operated two teaching hospitals – one in town and one outside the city near the campus. The one in town got closed for seventeen months. The college replaced all their managers. The college was also on probation from the Nepal Medical Council. All of this is public knowledge.

Among the new leaders brought in was a doctor originally from Janakpur who had been practicing in India.  Dr Raman Mishra attended medical college in Varanasi and was a member of a medical practice in Chardigarh. He returned home. His practice includes both Janiki Medical College Teach Hospital (JMCTH) and Janiki Health Care and Research Center (JHCRC). Because JMCTH had just re-opened after seventeen months, he was re-establishing the ICU there. At JHCRC, he wanted to open a specific ICU, because there was none and ICU-level patients were being served in the ER.

Dr Mishra found this blog via websearch.

Next thing you know, Janakpur was on the schedule!

IMG_20160620_080527

JMC TH has reopened and they are being renovated. They have not yet recaptured their previous level of activity. JMC has another hospital on the outskirts of town as well. I did not visit that one.

I did five sessions there – two at JMCTH and three at JHCRC.

Here’s a photo of JMCTH ICU:

IMG_20160626_130146_panorama.jpg

Now, an interesting thing about Janakpur was, there were already a couple of nurses who’d previously taken my three-days’ course when I taught in Bharatpur a couple of years ago. Also, the enrollees at the first session included B Sc students from the JMCTH College of Nursing, along with their faculty members.

jmc-nursing-college-staff

Nursing faculty of the JMC College of Nursing.

 

Binu Shah

Turns out that unbeknownst to Dr. Mishra or myself, one of the JMCTH nursing faculty had gotten her M Sc in cardiovascular nursing from the UK. Binu Shah was very knowledgeable resource, and I soon asked her to help with the teaching. I love it when this happens!

IMG_20160623_120921

Binu Shah of the JMC TH college of nursing faculty, at the blackboard. It turns out that Janakpur has more knowledgeable persons in the workforce, than we thought. In this respect I was effective at calling them out of the woodwork and getting them introduced to each other. Hey – if it works, I will try it! Among other things, Binu helped translate the more difficult concepts into the local language. My motto is “you can be great at this even if you speak no English” – and for the record, I personally speak *no* Maithili. Binu made these sessions a success!

The JMC TH ICU nursing staff was enthusiastic and came early to make sure they mastered the defibrillator.

IMG_20160626_085221_edit

JMC TH owns two defibrillators. The staff was diligent in learning the course content. Here is my AT-34 rhythm generator attached. I teach three methods of ecg – the six rhythms, the six steps, and the eyeball method. The generator is a fun toy.

The groups

The groups included a couple of Medical Officers and some “Health Assistants” from the Emergency Room. (Health Assistant is a person with a three-year PCL diploma). In this region of Nepal, the main language is Maithili, on par with  Nepali and Hindi.

IMG_20160620_084004_hdr

Classroom setup at JMC TH. we used a vacant patient care area. the course jumps from lecture to small-group practice, so the space was nice to have.

The sessions

IMG_20160623_145627

Binu Shah helping explain concepts of cardiac arrest at JMC TH. She is a resource for that region of Nepal and I told her she should be teaching this class in the Janakpur region.

Groups

IMG_20160622_111522

JMC TH nursing students. These guys will be the nucleus of future critical care nursing practice in Janakpur. please note that the paddles are disconnected from their power source, for practice purposes.

and

IMG_20160624_131251

JMC Th B Sc students in the second batch at JMC TH. They wear a different uniform than the PCL nursing students. Here, they practice the eyeball method of ecg.

IMG_20160626_144736_panorama

One of the JMC TH batches for CCNEPal in summer 2016. Shahruk Khan has a prominent role in each class….

Next?

Part three will tell about JHCRC. stay tuned!

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in medical care in low income countries and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Janakpur summer 2016 part 2 (of 3) – JMC Teaching Hospital

  1. Pingback: Janakpur summer 2016 – part 3 – JHCRC | CCNEPal 2015

  2. raman mishra says:

    It was sheer luck that I came across your
    Blog. But believe me , Janakpur is in dire need of people like Joe , especially since it somehow has been overlooked by the political class and the inhabitants are not yet smart enough to know what is best for them ….what ccnepal has been doing in Nepal couldn’t have been done even with millions of dollars in aid through any xyz NGO… Forget about government of Nepal itself….such a large scale work…such huge number of students trained …and only one stalwart… Joe you are more than extraordinary in ur work and I feel proud to be a part of ur mission.

Leave a Reply

