Biratnagar Nepal – a jewel of the Terai July 2016 – the town


In late July, 2016 I spent more than two weeks in Biratnagar, Nepal, teaching critical care skills to nurses and medical students at Nobel Medical College. This is Nepal’s second-largest city, in the eastern Terai, generally acknowledged as the center of industrial activity for the country.

Nobel Medical College was my host. http://www.nobelmedicalcollege.com.np/

As with my recent series about Janakpur, this  will be more than one part. First, I’ll describe the highlights of the town, then go to the classes and finally some photos of the ICUs there.

Hotel Namaskar

64694_10150847495213747_1294847018_n

This is a favorite business hotel in Biratnagar. the two restaurants on the premises were very good. out back was a party palace.

http://www.hotelnamaskar.com.np/ I stayed at Hotel Namaskar my first trip here a few years back, and on that occasion I was sponsored by “CNE Planet,” the brainchild of Raj Mehta and Dipty Subba.

img_20150410_114443

Dipty is very organized and has shown initiative in continuing education for nurses in Terai. The “puggri” is not native to Nepal, but I use it as a prop for the class. It helps to get people out of their comfort zone and into the Land of Make Believe when we do complicated simulation scenarios. Naturally the headpiece includes real diamonds, rubies, emeralds and sapphires….

Hotel Namaskar is near “traffic chowk” and I never did return to it on the long 2016 trip. Traffic chowk is more pedestrian-friendly than the spot I was in, as I recall.

Videos

I didn’t shoot these, but they represent the town pretty well, in my humble opinion. You can enjoy these even without Nepali language. It’s a large sprawling city on a plain flatter than a pancake. On a good day, you can see the Himalaya.

Hamro Biratnagar   (“Our Biratnagar”)

Nepali-language video

going down the street video

Biratnagar in New York Times

This city  does not often receive international attention.

http://mobile.nytimes.com/2015/09/17/health/nepal-water-earthquakes.html

This one has a backstory.  Biratnagar fell prey to an epidemic of Hepatitis E in 2014, a year before the earthquake, but nobody was interested from international media. Eleven hundred people contracted the illness in Biratnagar – hey! what does it take for a city to get some attention?!?!?

The New York Times seems to have re-edited this video  after the 2015 quake, adding the first section based in Kathmandu, because of the threat of an epidemic; creating more interest in the Biratnagar section, where an actual epidemic happened.  The miracles of modern technology allow a person of skillful means to slip the bonds of chronological time.

The Biratnagar section the NYT video includes brief glimpses of hospital scenes; yep, that’s what it looks like in a Nepal hospital!

here is the link straight to the video, which is 6:38 long. http://www.nytimes.com/video/health/100000003883905/nepals-waterborne-worries.html

evening street market

Below is a more typical scene. Throughout Nepal this is how people get vegetables.

Geography

The east-west highway goes through Itahari. To the north is Dharan and to the south is Biratnagar. If you are in Biratnagar  in summer and you need to beat the heat, go to Dharan. Here is a 24 minute travel video in Nepali that shows trip to Dharan from Biratnagar.

And now some photos I took myself.

img_20160706_175221

If you arrive by bus, get off when you see this temple – the road to Nobel branches off here.

Kanchenbara is the name of the Chowk where a side road branches off to Nobel Medical College. You’ll know you’re there when you see the yellow shikhari-style temple.

img_20160707_155846

Yes, look for the yellow temple, but if you are colorblind, you’ll know you are at Kanchenbara when you see this🙂

 

 

img_20160706_174723

the shop with the NCell sign is the cyber café and also does photocopying. in Kanchenbara.

If you need photocopy, get it at the cyber cafe located here.

I knew that it would be difficult to find “organic coffee” (i.e., not nescafe…) in Terai, so I brought my own supply but by this time I’d been away from Kathmandu for eight weeks. I always look for “organic coffee” and peanut butter, and – I found it for sale in Biratnagar.

img_20160709_105025

simple pleasures. Nepali-grown coffee is quite good. I had been running dangerously low on the supply I brought eight weeks previous. Now – I knew I could endure anything that may come my way!

The place to obtain these is the department store at Mahendra Chowk, about 8 km south of Kanchenbara.

img_20160709_104002

At Mahendra Chowk. This place has “organic coffee!” and yes, that’s a Baskin-Robbins on the right. life is grand!

Near the Chowk is the central Bajaar. On a hot day the open-air plaza is shaded by blue tarps, providing a sort of psychedic effect.

img_20160709_113855

Was it hot? funny you should ask we’re talking eastern Terai in late July – yes, dear. This is the Bajaar near Mahendra Chowk.

In the vicinity of the Bajaar you can find both the Hanuman mandir and a mosque, with several adjacent shops selling Islamic supplies.

img_20160709_113842

An unusual Hanuman mandir for Nepal. Usually Hanuman is outside.

 

Biratnagar does not have a religious focal point to rival Janaki Mandir in Janakpur, but people here are similarly devout.

img_20160709_114024

The mosque at the Bajaar near Mahendra Chowk, Biratnagar Nepal.

Biratnagar has a sizeable Muslim community, with loudspeakers announcing the call to prayer at dawn.

img_20160709_112639

the fun in exploring a bajaar is sometimes to guess what on earth a particular item is used for. These are clay pipes for “chillum”

Pedicabs

img_20160709_112826_edit

In Terai the pedicab business took a hit during nakibanda, the petrol “blockade.” Electric-powered jitneys, funded by business interests from India, moved in. But the pedicabs retain their charm, including colorful paintings on the stern. this depicts a Nepali kingfisher.

I stayed at the Guest House operated by the Medical College. This was quite new. Spotlessly clean and a western toilet. Here’s what my room looked like:

img_20160702_153717

ithe room faced west. I loved drinking my coffee on the balcony in the morning. it was sparkly clean and the guest house staff was attentive. there was wifi.

I used the air con.

img_20160702_170649

dinner at 8:30 PM around this table. the common areas at the Guest House were ample.

Dinner was at 8:30 PM, served buffet style then  seating around a large table. Like other medical colleges of Terai, most of the guests were supplemental faculty from India. Dinner in Terai is always fashionably late; I have to admit I never really got used to that convention seeing as how I’m usually in bed by nine. The menu was typically “dal baat” with other thakali items. Sometimes chicken or fish also.

Kabadi

Never heard of Kabadi, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kabaddi the competitive sport, until I joined other guests waiting for dinner. They watched this for hours. who knew?

After watching the above, ask yourself what Kabadi teaches us about the national psyche of a country where this seems to be a major sport.  Here is a link to the rules of Kabadi: http://www.wikihow.com/Play-Kabaddi

Breakfast wasn’t til 8 AM, too late for my tastes; we arranged a simple breakfast every day at 7 and I also got my own coffee at 0530, which was nice. People told me that some previous group of westerners had asked to relocate to some other hotel somewhere; it’s a mystery to me as to what the problem was. The staff was eager to please.

The big entertainment was to watch daily progress on the rice paddies surrounding the Guest House.

img_20160702_153659

from my balcony at the Nobel Medical College Guest House. The water was six inches deep. They do *not* depend on rain to fill each paddy, it surprised me to learn about the engineering of the water – more to it than meets the eye. Also, I saw egrets. Turns out they were “Indian Pond Herons” – a new species for me.

Nursery beds

img_20160704_072554_edit_edit

a nursery bed awaiting transplant to the large paddy. The color of newly-grown rice is dazzling. the rice-growing process provides many stories and legends and there is an annual festival when it begins.

There will be two more entries about my time in Biratnagar – one for the classes and hospital, and another for the critical care areas. stay tuned!

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Biratnagar Nepal – a jewel of the Terai July 2016 – the town

  1. sandeept252 says:

    I got information of so many places in Biratnagar from this post. Thank you for the post!

Leave a Reply

