CCNEPal goes to Norvic Hospital, Kathmandu August 2016 – some pics


img_20160803_124140

the cafeteria at Norvic was restaurant quality, with a waitstaff. The canopy was covered by a blue tarp, giving it a distinctive look.

In August 2016 CCNEPal conducted a session of the three-day course at Norvic Hospital in Thapathali, a neighborhood of Kathmandu right near the river. This was not the original plan, but turned out to be fortuitous and fun.

Web page

go to http://www.norvichospital.com/ and take a look. Norvic comes with an impressive list of “firsts” – first private hospital, home of the first cardiologist in Nepal, first cath lab in Nepal, etc. The School of Nursing at Norvic has a FaceBook page https://www.facebook.com/NorvicEducations

img_20160804_080148

this is not directly clinical “first” compared to angioplasty, etc. But – medical waste is a looming challenge in Nepal and Norvic seems to have designed a system for handling it. bravo!

Norvic is probably the best hospital in the country. I know I know I know, quality is elusive and arbitrary.  Also I know hundreds of nurses and doctors and I should be careful not to offend anybody since there are many wonderful people who work elsewhere. Also, on each of the two occasions when I was sick or injured enough to go to the hospital, it turns out that Norvic was not where I actually went, after all. But I liked a lot of things they did, and if I were sick and had a choice, Norvic is where I would go.

img_20160803_101642

In Kathmandu mid-morning chiya and biscuits are just the thing. Before the CCNEPal project is through, we will consume one million cups of chiya and two million biscuits. and I always ask the participants to toast – they toast the previous groups and the future groups. ( note: a few people got nescafe – OMG!)

I’ve not previously conducted training with them on their turf, though in the past (2013) they cycled their entire cath lab staff through my series of trainings at Lalitpur Nursing Campus. Most of the cath lab staff were new since then but several had previously taken my course.

img_20160810_090459

In Norvic cath lab. lead aprons neatly stowed. ship shape!

My contact person was Mahima Khoju, RN, BSN. Mrs. Khoju got her nursing degree from the University of Texas at Arlington, back along. I think we emailed back and forth for six years before we finally met in person.

img_20160805_150642_edit

Mrs. Mahima Khoju, my contact person. If her friends from UTA could see her now…. actually, the head gear is not her usual, it’s the same puggri every body else tries on sooner or later, my favorite prop for the course.

Cath Lab at Norvic  – I got the tour, but the video was cut short when the battery died.

patient care areas

img_20160810_085057

one of the Medical Wards at Norvic. light and airy and dust free.

Above is the layout of the medical-surgical wards. two nurses are standing with the dressing cart. it was time for morning care, and all the drapes were pulled.

img_20160803_084323

a small Newari temple in a courtyard on the premises of Norvic.

Heart Command Center

The tour focused on the ICUs in the hospital. For the Heart Command Center, one  of the staff nurses gave me a specific commentary on the equipment. This is probably boring to anybody who is not an ICU nurse, but if you are? it’s dedicated to YOU!

the above gives you an idea of the equipment they have. I was interested in the external pacer box. Pacing is a thing with me. Nepal needs a more coordinated national system of how to get it for people who need it. we take it for granted in USA, but for many outlying regions if you need it you won’t get it unless you can make it to a place that has it…..

here is a poster that they still display to celebrate World Heart Day from a few years back:

img_20160805_080642

sort of a re-union of heart patients.

MONA

img_20160803_144139

In the ACLS protocol, “MONA” is a mnemonic device to recall certain drugs we use. I have a long-running joke about MONA, and MONA appears in my handouts. CCNEPal has trained 2,885 nurses and doctors, and only two were actually *named* Mona. So – we had a running joke for several days. Childish? mebbe. Fun? definitely!

Tokens of love

img_20160805_141754_panorama_edit

the group picture. the 23rd of 24 groups for summer 2016. probably one of the top five groups in the history of CCNEPal ( the others being MMCVTC, SHNHC, the 2011 LNC BN group, and one other whom I shall not name).

Just me and the guys

20160805_160211

“The guys” wanted a picture.  Men do not attend nursing school per se,  but there is a parallel PCL course named “Health assistant”  that enrolls males.  I loved their attitude and sense of humor.

 

Haku Patasi

The final day was wrapped up with a ceremony, as always. My hosts asked me ahead of time if I had any preference for a “token of love” – and I told them. So I was delighted to be presented with two “haku patasi” and a hand-carved tea box with Ilam tea in it.

img_20160806_061522_edit

made of Nepal-grown homespun cotton, the traditional sari of Newari women. These were for my daughters. Not the usual souvenir of Nepal.

 

 

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

Experienced nursing educator and problem-solver. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add it with fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. I travel outside of Kathmandu Valley as well. When the recent violence happened, I knew the cities - I had trained people in those locations. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011. Global Health Nursing is not all sweetness and light; not solely milk & honey and happy moms and babies.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

