CCNEPal 2017 summer plans – sign up now!


IMG_20150108_112956

All the props, packed up and ready to travel. CCNEPal 2016 was essentially one loooong road trip. What will we do in 2017?

This is a brief announcement.

I expect to be in Nepal once again for summer 2017. My plan is to teach more sessions of the 2-day course in Cardiac Life Support for MBBS docs and interns, as well as the 3-day course for nurses and nursing students. Please browse through back entries in this blog – there are about 240 essays on various aspects of this project. Go to the FaceBook page and browse around – you may very well know some of the 2,885 people who already took this course since 2011.

I will arrive around May 10th and return to USA around August 15th or so. The summer will mostly be a circuit trip.There are three main phases of what I expect to do:

  1. I will land in Kathmandu Valley, run around like a crazy man gathering supplies for a couple of days, then get on a bus to Terai (or somewhere).  I will settle in a location like a nomad, set up my yurt, pasture my yaks, and teach as much as I can for two weeks at a time. Similar to last year.
  2. In the middle of the summer, one of my family members may be visiting. At that time, I will take a two-week break in Kathmandu during which I will be the guide for any and all nurses or nursing faculty who wish to learn about Nepal culture, Nepal healthcare, and Nepal nursing.  During this period, I expect to focus on helping other videshis get up to speed on how they can interface with their peers, as opposed to simple sending them off to trek with toothbrushes or teach English in an orphanage. If you know of any nursing faculty for whom this might be appealing, let me know. I don’t know the dates but probably first two weeks of July (tentative).
  3. When those persons have finished their time, I will return to Terai and resume teaching. I have this dream of visiting Beni the site of my novel; also, I wish to finally go to Jumla, the mysterious locale in western Nepal, to fulfill various solemn promises made to people long ago, some of whom are now deceased.

How to Book me?

I already got one request for me to spend two weeks in Palpa, at L.M.C. where I’ve taught before (and I also had a fine time). I do not generally construct the exact schedule of teaching too much in advance because it will inevitably change at the last minute anyway and even if it does change, I can always find people interested to work with me. (I am immensely flattered every time). So – if you are a host agency, just send me an email or a FaceBook  message. I ask that the host agency pay for my lodging and fooding. I live and eat like the locals ( I admit though, Air Con is very nice when I am in Terai!)

IMG_20150315_142303_edit

Thousands of lives lost in the April 26th earthquake. Please pray for Nepal.

General Goal

Any Nepali nurse or doc reading this who wants to help teach and set up their own program in Nepal is strongly encouraged to contact me. This project is entering it’s sixth year, and we should be getting to the point where many people have taken the introductory course. For the skills I teach to be “sustainable” we need to think of ways to develop Nepali expertise in teaching and presentation as well as how to integrate into the ongoing curricula of nursing and medicine. If there are more requests than I can fulfill ( as has happened in previous years) I will prioritize the ones where the host can commit to finding people to adopt it in their own location with teachers that I train and then take over the content. This has happened in some places, but not others.

We have seen tremendous response to this project since it’s inception, and I hope 2017 can be just as good a collaboration as previous years.

 

 

 

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

These blogs, and my books, and videos are written on the principle that any person embarking on something similar to what I do will gain more preparation than I first had, by reading them. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add to it fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to CCNEPal 2017 summer plans – sign up now!

  1. Sandhya Tiwari says:

    Hello there
    I have completed my bsc nursing from the batch 2011-2015 from Bangalore and received my documents from the university in July 2016 and will be attempting the Nepal Licensing exam this year July 2017. I would love to collaborate with this team and provide all my skills. I would love to explore and expose myself in practical field as I lack that. I’m a learner still and would love to be in your team as the initial phase of my career. Hope this will help me tremendously in my masters degree.
    Hope you’ll consider me in your team. Will be grateful to join.
    Thanks.
    Sandhya Tiwari

    • will you be in Kathmandu? the first thing is to take the three-day’s course yourself as a student. I don’t know when I will have a KTM session. go to the FaceBook page for CCNEPal and hit “like” – that’s the place where I will be posting such news.

      congrats on finishing the B SC!

      • Sandhya Tiwari says:

        I put up in different place called Chitwan. I would love to be there for those classes and curious to learn from you.
        I’m so glad you replied.

Leave a Reply

