CCNEPal Summer 2017 How to arrange hosting a session of the ICU training


img_20150420_135521

I teach a lot of basic skills used in critical care, including ecg. The emphasis is on applying, not just listening to lecture. we use Scenario-based simulation approach” – very active.

It starts May 12th and ends July 14th

May 16th update: I leave for Terai in the morning.

My Nepal phone chip has been activated. The number is 98010 96822

To call me from USA: 011 977 98010 96822

I prefer SMS text. Do not phone or text me after 9 PM

I arrive in Kathmandu on May 12th and I’ll be in Nepal for eight weeks this time. It’s a bit shorter than last summer. The plan is to teach in Terai and western Nepal as much as I can.  As before, any medical center or school interested in hosting me is invited to contact me:

joeniemczura@gmail.com

 

How to host

I will travel to locations outside Kathmandu if the host can do the following:

  1. provide a class space suitable for the program. This  needs to be a big space. We move around a lot during this class. It needs: 1) a whiteboard (I do not use PowerPoint) 2) thirty chairs, 3) five patient beds or trolleys for the role play scenarios. 4) air con if possible. The classroom needs to be away from a patient care area. ( we make a lot of noise).

    img_20160710_144458_panorama_edit

    panoramic view of classroom space. I asked them to bring the beds, for the small group work. the space was ideal for our training and I recommended to them to keep the beds there. in this ic, the groups are working on scenario practice, a key component of all such courses.

  2. provide a roster of thirty nurses and/or doctors or MBBS students for each session of two, or three days. Nurses take a 3-day sessions and MBBS take the 2-day/ Each participant must attend all sessions of the same class to get the certificate (in other words, the three day class is a three day class – not three one-day classes). arrange for morning chiya and lunch, if there is not a cafeteria.
  3. The sessions are for PCL nurses, B SC nurses, or MBBS. I do not register ANMs in the class. It’s okay if the person is a recent graduate, but the persons need to be working in acute care or intending to work there.
  4. while at a place outside of KTM Valley, the host provides fooding and lodging. I live simply, it can be at a guest house, no need for finest hotel in town. I eat  DBT etc so I’m okay with local food. At some locations, they lodge me in a private room on cabin ward. ( they do not need to check my vital signs though!)
  5. My preferred schedule is to teach six days per week, either two three-day sessions (for nurses) or three two-day sessions (for doctors). I travel on Saturday and repeat. In summer 2016 I stayed two weeks in Pokhara, two in Bharatpur, two in Janakpur, and three in Biratnagar before returning to Kathmandu.
  6. I try to make a “circuit” of sessions, not go out-and-back from Kathmandu all the time. It’s more efficient.
  7. I supply the certificates. I keep a minimum amount of photocopy but we need about six pages per person.
  8. My Nepali is poor ( I am ashamed to admit). Strange as it may seem, that is not an insurmountable obstacle if there are some English speakers. I adapt my teaching techniques in a certain way. If a person has no English, this may not be the class for them.

Kathmandu

I’ll try to teach at least one first-come first-registered session in Kathmandu, open to nurses that are not employed by a hospital (yet) or whose hospital is not large enough to host a session on their own.

 

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

These blogs, and my books, and videos are written on the principle that any person embarking on something similar to what I do will gain more preparation than I first had, by reading them. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add to it fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CCNEPal Summer 2017 How to arrange hosting a session of the ICU training

  1. smileashish says:

    Hello Joe, I had some query so I am writing to you. If there is an individual who is really passionate and is highly willing to join ICU training session that will be organized during your visit, is it possible to accommodate that person in the group ? Looking forward for your positive response.

Leave a Reply

