Revised Schedule for Summer sessions of CCNEPal 2017


Three weeks shortened from end of schedule

Updated June 24th

I need to update my schedule. I cancelled all the previously-scheduled sessions outside Kathmandu Valley  after June 23rd. I gave the talk in Kirtipur, and will deliver the sessions listed below. I need to do this because in USA, my father will be finishing his course of physical therapy treatments, and I will return there when he is discharged from the Rehabilitation hospital. My brother requested me to go there and so – I will return to USA three weeks early.

Here are the remaining sessions:

15. June 25th, 26th & 27th, 3-day course at Norvic (30+) ( added).

16. June 28th, 29th and 30th, 3-day course at Norvic (30+).

I added the final sessions at Norvic because they had a problem – the ones who took my sessions were extremely enthusiastic and created a sort of jealousy among those unable to register. ( some body does need to cover the patient-care duty, after all). And so we will train more persons. Also, Norvic has been “fun” and I loved the people I met there. It’s a fine hospital.

I also need to “take time and smell the incense….”

I fly out at 0815 July 2nd.

Attitude of Gratitude

I wish to extend my thanks for all the enthusiastic participants who recognize the usefulness of the courses I offer. I thrive on the positive energy. Together we can improve patient care during critical situations throughout Nepal. I hope to return in 2018 and collaborate with all my Nepali friends.

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

These blogs, and my books, and videos are written on the principle that any person embarking on something similar to what I do will gain more preparation than I first had, by reading them. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add to it fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

