Report of Summer 2017 CCNEPal sessions in Nepal


IMG_20170620_094019

the first Norvic “batch”included 47 people, more than usual. I had wonderful support from Kavitha Ma’am (the Matron) and Mrs. Mahima Khoju Kunwar, of the Quality department.

Packing up for a long flight

This is a quick summary of activities for summer 2017. The trip this year would not have been viable without the support of a GoFundMe campaign, to which thirteen people contributed. The campaign allowed me to buy the round trip ticket.

We were here for five weeks and taught 13 sessions  to nurses and MBBS docs, in addition to two one-day classes focusing on BLS for BDS students. To be honest, there are many Nepali professionals qualified and capable to teach BLS and it was not an effective use of my time. I don’t plan to do BLS as a standalone, again.

We taught 77 nurses at Lumbini Medical College in Palpa.

IMG_20170523_112154

Morning tea and biscuits is oh-so-civilized. I love the collegiality imparted by this small ritual. (At Lumbini Medical College).

fifty nurses at Chitwan Medical College, Bharatpur

thirtyeight nurses and MBBS (combined class) at Charak Memorial Hospital in Pokhara;

twentyseven MBBS (intern-level) at College of Medical Sciences, Bharatpur;

IMG_20170524_133007

teamwork teamwork teamwork. The core of the training is smallgroup work to develop the ability to think on your feet during a crisis.

eightytwo MBBS (intern-level) at Chitwan Medical College in Bharatpur

One Hundred and six nurses at Norvic Hospital, Thapathali Kathmandu; and

twentyone Medical Officers at Norvic.

Total

The total seems to be 364 participants.

IMG_20170601_123309

r screen that they are looking at a monitor screen hooked up to our Pinnacle tech AT-35. It is an invaluable tool. I left it with my colleagues at Norvic while I am away.

The Original plan was to stay until July 14th, but family concerns arose in USA and I needed to change departure dates.

When I return to USA I will focus on my job as a nursing faculty member, then starting in fall 2017 I will think about next steps for 2018. I wish to build on what I have done to create nationwide network of critical care educators. I think there is need for a nursing-focused course on mechanical ventilation as well as Pediatric Emergencies.

 

 

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

These blogs, and my books, and videos are written on the principle that any person embarking on something similar to what I do will gain more preparation than I first had, by reading them. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add to it fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Report of Summer 2017 CCNEPal sessions in Nepal

  1. As always, you are a driven Niemczura. Proud of your work in Nepal. How are your parents. Are you now based in Tampa? Do keep us posted. I am off with our daughter for two weeks to Arizona. 🙂

Leave a Reply

