the last seventyfive students July 29


(Thursday evening Got back from dinner with a friend to see that th Koreans were back – about twenty eating kim chee in the kitchen – nodding politely and smiling. Twelve women are in the annexe with me; the men joined them for dinner but are upstairs. Somehow they broke the shower head – I did a GI shower and got out of there early. While walking to Patan Hospital I phoned the manager to come fix….

++++++++++++++++

“Now – it’s Done!”

As in the TV commercial –

I had agreed to do a one day’s training event at Patan Hospital – it was today. 15 house officer docs from 0900 to 1030 then segue into 30 nurses from 10 to 1300, then 30 more from 2 to 5. Shorter than the time frame I like but hey, I agreed to do it since I’d been working to get them to know who I was —- kind of like “speed dating for future ACLS instructors”

For the morning I was again joined by my two colleagues from Norvic, Bijaya and Rajani, they were again a tremendous help. We broke the group in three, they each had a subgroup. We did the family scenario and it was among the best…..

For each of the three groups, The idea was: fifteen minutes doing BLT and BVM; then five minute intro into the Onlyest Six Rhythms; then jump straight into megacode and stay there.

(Gentle reader: you must be sick of hearing about megacode over and over by now. Thank you for indulging me. I will now resume that state other refer to as “having a life outside of ACLS”.)

They left and I did the afternoon session, utilizing Maiya the in-charge of ICU, as a co-leader. Got er done!

Anyway: I had my A game with me, was able to define clear teaching points, deliver them with a sense of humor, engage each group, and keep it lively. This group included many of the senior nursing leaders and house supervisors – there were some really sharp folks there, when I use this method of teaching I can spot them immediately and engage them differently using the expertise….. Heh heh heh heh.

Got great feedback as usual.

At the beginning I recognised a TNS grad – batch of 2007 Prabina Sta – our photo on FB…. Ho!

So – Patan Hospital (PH) does have a pretty good nursing staff, IMHO. They are big and they crank out business, a lot of stuff goes down here. This is the big time.

You would expect them to have bright people and they do. A bunch of these now had the opportunity to get a good look at me and gain firsthand knowledge about me, and this will be handy on my return. I wanted access to their stuff for training purposes but I knew from the start that to spend time training PH nurses was not a priority. I already knew they were good and my goal was always to do broader outreach to all hospitals. Would have been great if we’d gotten to know each other sooner but there will be future times….

Anyway – this is it. It’s done.

Delivered more books.

Filled every class.

Got nationwide publicity.

Demonstrated cutting edge teaching techniques.

Trained a trainload of people (would have trained a boatload but they don’t know what boats are in this country).

Met a lot of key players.

Developed a bunch of teachers who already started to implement things they learned.

Had a hoot in my time off.

And I can’t screw it up now – it’s too late to screw up! It’s OVER!

Three days of chilling, coming right up.

Joe

Oh yeah, I will fill in some blanks left along the way, such as entering roster lists of emails in the laptop database, sending thank you letters, etc – I’ve actually gotten another request for Monday which I turned down – the teaching, the on-stage stuff – is done. All the curtain calls – done. No more encores. Hang up the costume and clean off the greasepaint…..

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

These blogs, and my books, and videos are written on the principle that any person embarking on something similar to what I do will gain more preparation than I first had, by reading them. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add to it fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011.
This entry was posted in The Hospital at the End of the World and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment