CCNEPal updated schedule of sessions for APril and May 2015


Note: this will be amended as sessions are added. This is not the final list.

All good things must come to an end

I knew when I got the approval to spend a year in Nepal teaching critical care that it was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity in global health nursing. I love Nepal, mainly because the people here are so nice, as well as being dedicated. But I’ll save the nostalgia for later, and focus on the fact that I will return to USA May 30th. that is ten weeks from now. I plan to keep teaching at full capacity until the last day, but I also need to think about setting things up so that others carry the work forward after I go.

The schedule of sessions as of March 5th

LNC session 2 – March 8th, 9th and 10th – coming right up.

open date – March 11th, 12th and 13th – any host hospitals out there for this slot?

March 15th through March 28th – family from USA come to visit. It might be possible to add one session during this time in the KTM Valley, mainly because my family is curious to see what it is that I do, here……any takers for March 22nd ,23rd and 24th – ?????

LNC session #3 March 29th, 30th, and 31st

LNC session #4 April 5th, 6th and 7th

I could add a session April 8th, 9th and 10th. ????

Road trip for April

April 12 & 13th; 14th & 15th; 16th & 17th; 19th & 20th – Chitwan Medical College, Bharatpur. series of 2-day sessions for MBBS students and junior interns

April 22nd, 23rd and 24th – 3-day session for staff nurses of Universal College of Medical Science (UCMS) in Bhairawaha

April 26 & 27th; 28th & 29th; 30th & May 1st – three 2-day sessions for doctors at UCMS in Bhairawaha.

May 3rd, 4th and 5th – 3-day session for nursing students at  UCMS in Bhairawaha.

Sometime in May – a week in Jumla.

Sometime in late May – sessions at College of Medical Sciences (CMS) in Bharatpur.

CCNEPal can not possibly accommodate all the requests for training that have been received. But we will entertain ideas as to ways to promote further critical care nursing education in Nepal, while we are here.

Oh and one last thing. Take at look at this review of The Sacrament of the Goddess, a novel of Nepal. You can buy it at Vajra Books in Thamel or the Tibet Books.

द साक्रामेन्ट अफ गोड्डेस्,,अथवा नेपाली मा भन्नु पर्दा देबी को प्रसाद,,एउटा यस्तो नोवेल जसमा माया,जिबन्,त्याग्,आत्मियता जस्ता आध्यात्मिक कुरहरु को मिठो बयान गरिएको छ, यसका लेखक जो निम्जुरा एउटा अमेरिकि नागरिक र पेसामा उनि नेपाल र अमेरिका दुबैमा राजइस्टर्ड नर्स हुन्,,बिगत ७ बर्ष देखी उनि नेपालमा स्वास्थ्य को क्षेत्रमा उल्लेख्हनिय काम गर्दै आइरहेका छन्,.यो किताब उन्कै मिहिनेत को फल हो,,यसमा नेपालमा दस बर्स सम्म चलेको जनयुद्द को बेलाको.. एउटा अमेरिकन सर्जन र नेपाल को बेनी भन्ने ठाउँमा बस्ने साधाराण नेपाली केटी बिचको प्रेम सम्ब्न्ध को बारेमा बयान गरिएको छ,,,,,,

to read more, click here

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

These blogs, and my books, and videos are written on the principle that any person embarking on something similar to what I do will gain more preparation than I first had, by reading them. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add to it fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment