the key to ecg for acls is – the six basic rhythms


Onliest six rhythms

Yes, Virginia, there are only six cardiac rhythms. The protocol is based on this construct. Believe and achieve!

Just a quick note to accompany this YouTube link. You can practice mega-code without a fancy manikins and fancy simulators, and this shows you how.

Competition

ACLS mega-code is an intellectual game, in which the goal is for the team to shift between sections of a seven-page protocol seamlessly on cue. Oh yes, it’s nice if the practice equipment is as close to the real thing as you can achieve, but in Nepal, for example, the heart monitor/defibrillator is in use and hard to free up for training away from the patient care area.

And so this is a low-tech, inexpensive way to teach mega-code problemsolving skills.

New video.

http://youtu.be/pov_nTKsI_k

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

These blogs, and my books, and videos are written on the principle that any person embarking on something similar to what I do will gain more preparation than I first had, by reading them. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add to it fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011.
This entry was posted in The Hospital at the End of the World and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to the key to ecg for acls is – the six basic rhythms

  1. Justin says:

    Nice, thanks Joe. Would that I could find a job where this were relevant…or hell even an afforrdable ACLS class that’s not already full of hospital employees.

Leave a comment