Welcome Nurse Eye Roll fans!


Welcome Nurses of USA!

I have more than one blog, and this is the one that describes, in professional terms, “CCNEPal” the critical care education project in Nepal that I started in 2011. Please feel free to browse the site.

Nurses need to learn how to do this. (don't try this at home. these are trained professionals under expert supervision)

Nurses need to learn how to do this. (don’t try this at home. these are trained professionals under expert supervision)

There’s a list of blog entries to the right, as well as helpful links to nursing in Nepal. In Nepal I explain USA to the Nepali people I work with. In USA, I explain Nepal to Americans.

Yes, I was in Nepal for the earthquake.

Sangkhu Nepal. Yes, I was in Nepal for the April earthquake but I travel a lot and I was nowhere near the epicenter.

Sangkhu Nepal. Yes, I was in Nepal for the April earthquake but I travel a lot and I was nowhere near the epicenter.

I knew that Kati Kleber, RN, the author of “Becoming Nursey” was going to print a review of my book, and I was pleased to read it today. She was so enthusiastic she made me want to read the thing myself ( and, I already know how it ends!)

Required reading for every medical person who thinks he understands what goes on in Nepal...... available on Amazon at http://www.amazon.com/dp/1632100029

Required reading for every medical person who thinks he understands what goes on in Nepal…… available on Amazon at
http://www.amazon.com/dp/1632100029

I realize that the most recent entry prior to this one was on the care of patients with injury due to “Rubber Bullets” used in riot control actions by police in Nepal. They are having political turmoil, a sad echo of the drama described in my book, The Sacrament of the Goddess. I needed a better entrée page – here it is!

I have never met Kati or spoke with her, but I got acquainted with her writing because she wrote a blog entry on the topic of nurses with Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder. I thought the two entries complemented each other.

Also, I thought her advice for new RNs in Becoming Nursey was right on. It’s been great to follow her blog, and you should do so if you haven’t already.

Brad Wong photo, 2008. women's inpatient ward. eleven women, one bathroom.

Brad Wong photo, 2008. women’s inpatient ward. eleven women, one bathroom.

The novel has it’s own actual blog, as we all as a FaceBook page. I invite you to look at those. In particular, there’s a page titled “Glossary of Terms used in the book” that will help once you finally read the novel.

thanks!

About Joe Niemczura, RN, MS

These blogs, and my books, and videos are written on the principle that any person embarking on something similar to what I do will gain more preparation than I first had, by reading them. I have fifteen years of USA nursing faculty background. Add to it fifteen more devoted to adult critical care. In Nepal, I started teaching critical care skills in 2011. I figure out what they need to know in a Nepali practice setting. Then I teach it in a culturally appropriate way so that the boots-on-the-ground people will use it. One theme of my work has been collective culture and how it manifests itself in anger. Because this was a problem I incorporated elements of "situational awareness" training from the beginning, in 2011.
This entry was posted in medical volunteer in Nepal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome Nurse Eye Roll fans!

  1. The Eyes have it today!

  2. Pingback: Hello from USA October 15th | Nursing in Hawaii

Leave a comment